Conditions and procedure for the acquisition of property

Information about Rights & Duties of #Land tax and land transfer tax

Information about Rights & Duties

Purchasing and selling of immovable property, including any conditions and obligations related to taxation, ownership, or use of such property, including its use as a secondary residence

Conditions and procedure for the acquisition of property

German law distinguishes between the contractual act (contract of sale, under 1.1 below) and the material transfer transaction in the form of the transfer of the property (transfer of property, under 1.2 below).

Contract of sale as a contractual purchase agreement

  1. Establishment of a contract of sale on real estate and contractual obligations

In Germany, the purchase of real estate is subject to the general sales law rules and regulations under Sections 433 et seqq. of the German Civil Code. A contract of sale on real estate obliges the seller, according to Section 433(1) sentence 1 of the German Civil Code, to transfer the real estate to the buyer and also transfer ownership of the real estate. In doing so, the seller must ensure that the real estate is free of material defects and defects of title for the buyer in line with Section 433(1) sentence 2 of the German Civil Code. The buyer shall pay the seller the agreed purchase price in line with Section 433(2) of the German Civil Code.

To ensure a valid contract of sale, the contracting parties must reach an amicable arrangement on the essential elements of the contract of sale (essentialia negotii). These include the purchase item, the purchase price as well as the designation of the contracting parties. For real property, the statement of the list of titles is sufficient for an adequate designation of the real estate, provided that solely the relevant real property is entered in the list. In the case of a contract of sale concerning commonhold as defined in Section 1(2) of the German Condominium Act (WEG), this refers to the special ownership of a separate flat in conjunction with the share in co-ownership of the building/real property in/on which the flat is located a distinction must be made as to whether the division of the building has already taken place in the land register or not: if a land registration has already taken place, a reference to the relevant sheet in the housing land register is once again adequate the inventory of the housing land register then indicates the share in co-ownership of the purchase item and the associated special property. Additional separate information on the number, type and location of the rooms as well as on the size of the living space is not required for the validity of the contract of sale. If the division in commonhold has not yet taken place in the land registry, reference may be made to the deed of settlement to identify the purchase item.

The contract of sale is established by the offer of one contracting party and the acceptance of this offer by the other contracting party. The offer to conclude a contract may originate from the seller or buyer. An offer must at least identify the real estate that will be the object of the contract and the purchase price to be paid.

  1. Requirement for a notarial act

Every contract which involves an obligation to transfer or acquire ownership of real property requires a notarial act according to Section 311b(1) sentence 1 of the German Civil Code. The requirement for a notarial act serves to protect against the hasty and rash conclusion of a contract and the provision of information to the parties (detailed under c). The fact that the parties are required to appoint a notary highlights that this is not a usual everyday transaction. The certification satisfies a consultation and protective function. In this case, the intention is not just to ensure that the contracts comply with the statutory provisions and are valid (guarantee of validity). The deed also provides unambiguous proof of the agreements reached (evidentiary function). The certification serves to prevent dispute and lawsuits and so also relieves the burden on the courts. Section 311b(1) sentence 1 of the German Civil Code applies for all transfer and acquisition transactions concerning real property and therefore also non-material shares in real property, flat and partial ownership. The certification obligation not only extends to the payment of the purchase price and the transfer of the property, but also to all ancillary restraints, which the parties concerned intend to include in the contract, such as arrangements on the physical condition of the real estate as defined under Section 434(1) sentence 1 of the German Civil Code. As the notarial act is required before the parties enter into a legal relationship, the certification requirement also extends to legal acts that establish indirect sale and purchase obligations, such as the conclusion of reservation agreements with realtors or the issuance of irrevocable transfer or acquisition authorisations.

The notarial act is intended as a simultaneous certification such that the seller and buyer appear before the notary at a meeting with the notary where they conclude the contract of sale with an offer and acceptance. The notary documents the declarations of both contracting parties in a record. The contract of sale enters into force with the completion of the record by the notary.

However, in accordance with Section 128 of the German Civil Code, it is also possible for the offer to conclude the contract of sale to be certified by a notary first, before the acceptance of the offer, that is to say, that the declarations of the contracting parties are consecutively certified at two separate notary appointments. For this type of certification, the offer is first documented in a record. The offer takes effect once it is received by the person with whom the contract of sale is to be concluded. An offer signed before a notary public is received when a certified copy of the record in which the offer was documented is received. According to Section 145 of the German Civil Code, the person offering to conclude a contract with another person is bound to their effective offer for a certain period of time, unless this binding period has been waived. According to Section 148 of the German Civil Code, the period of time within which the offer is to apply may be expressly defined by the person submitting the offer. If no period of time is defined for the acceptance of the offer, the offer can only be accepted up to the point in time at which the offeror can expect to receive the response to their offer under regular circumstances (Section 147 of the German Civil Code). This time period regularly amounts to four weeks for property transactions according to case law. According to Section 146 of the German Civil Code, the offer expires if it is rejected or not accepted on time. The offer lapses upon expiration and acceptance of the offer is no longer possible. According to Section 152 of the German Civil Code, the contract of sale takes effect upon certification of the acceptance, if the acceptance of the offer has not expired at the time of acceptance. According to Section 150(2) of the German Civil Code, the delayed acceptance of an offer is considered a new application that, due to the form to be complied with under Section 311b(1) sentence 1 of the German Civil Code, cannot be accepted implicitly for instance by payment of the purchase price.

  1. Procedure and instruction by the notary

For the purposes of pre-contract preparations, the notary discusses the desired intrinsic terms of the contract with the contracting parties, explains the regulatory options and refers to existing risks and alternative configuration options. The notary also takes over the preparation of the draft contract of sale in accordance with the requests of the contracting parties, typically without resulting in any additional costs. In addition, the notary inspects the land register before certification in order to inform the buyer and the seller of existing legal relationships (Section 21 of the German Notarisation Act (BeurkG)).

As part of the certification, the notary identifies the parties (Section 10 BeurkG) and establishes their legal capacity (Section 11 BeurkG). The contract of sale for real estate is then read out in full to all parties present (Section 13 BeurkG). The reading out of the contract is an integral part of the contract certification, which cannot be waived. If a contracting party cannot attend the certification, this party may appoint a representative for the conclusion of a contract. The notary also explains the legal significance of the intrinsic terms of the contract to the parties concerned, informs them of the legal consequences (Section 17 BeurkG) and refers to important aspects, such as existing approval requirements (Section 18 BeurkG), the necessity of a clearance certificate from the tax inspector (Section 19 BeurkG) and the statutory pre-emption rights (Section 20 BeurkG). Addenda and amendments to the intrinsic terms of the contract may also take place in this respect after receiving expert advice from the notary. At the end of the certification, the contract of sale for real estate is signed by all parties in attendance and the notary, at which points it becomes legally valid and legally binding (Section 13 BeurkG).

If a principal as well as a consumer are involved in the contract of sale for real estate, the notary must take steps to ensure that the legal declarations of the consumer are issued before the notary in person or by a trusted person. In addition, the notary must takes steps to ensure that the consumer is given adequate opportunity to come to terms with the object of the certification in advance. The latter generally occurs by making the intended text of the legal transaction available to the consumer two weeks prior to the certification (Section 17(2a) sentence 2, number 1 and 2 BeurkG). The statutory time limitation should give the parties the opportunity to study the draft contract in detail and also clarify the value of the object and its suitability, check the tax consequences as well as carry out structural investigations, including checking matters that are not checked by the notary in advance or which the notary does not supervise.

With regard to the notarial obligation to provide information, the splitting of a contract of sale for real estate into offer and acceptance is only acceptable if a sufficiently important reason exists, as this can lead to an information deficit. If the splitting is objectively justified, the notary must structure the procedure so that the offer is issued by the more vulnerable party or party in greater need of instruction and information so that this party receives the full extent of the notarial consultation with regard to the offer as well as the offered contract.

  1. Consequences of non-compliance with the notarisation requirement

The consequence of non-compliance with the mandatory notarial form specified under Section 311b(1) sentence 1 of the German Civil Code is the nullity of the contract of sale in accordance with Section 125, sentence 1 of the German Civil Code. The contract does not establish any rights and obligations for the contracting parties. However, if the ownership of the real estate has been transferred from the seller to the buyer by way of a transfer of property and entry of the buyer in the land register, the nullity of the contract of sale is remedied and the contract and all of its content is valid in accordance with Section 311b(1) sentence 2 of the German Civil Code. However, the remedying of the formal defect does not apply retrospectively at the time of conclusion of the contract.

Transfer of property to the buyer by way of conveyance of property to the buyer and entry of the buyer in the land register

The certification of the contract of sale as a contractual sales transaction does not yet result in a transfer of ownership of the real estate to the buyer. Rather, the transfer of ownership to the buyer requires a material transfer transaction, whose effectiveness requires:

  1. an amicable arrangement between the contracting parties on the transfer of ownership to the real estate to the buyer (transfer of property), which must be declared before a notary (Section 873(1) and Section 925(1) of the German Civil Code).

as well as

  1. the entry of the buyer in the land register as the legal owner of the real estate.

The transfer of property is usually signed before a notary public together with the contract of sale. For the buyer to be entered in the land register as the legal owner, evidence of the transfer of property must be submitted to the land registry in a publicly certified form (Section 29(1) GBO (Land Registry Act)). Corresponding land registry approvals must also be submitted in this form (Section 19 GBO). As a rule, the notary is authorised and assigned to register the transfer in the land register (in particular, declaration of approvals and submission of the necessary applications to the land registry).

Costs associated with a contract of sale for real estate

According to the statutory regulation in Section 448(2) of the German Civil Code, the buyer of the real estate bears the costs of certifying the contract of sale and the transfer of property, the entry in the land register and the costs necessary for entry. According to the case law, the costs of certifying the contract of sale also include the real estate transfer tax, as this is inseparably linked with the purchase procedure.

The seller is required to bear the costs of the transfer of the real estate in accordance with Section 448(1) of the German Civil Code.

The aforementioned statutory settlements of costs are not mandatory. Different arrangements between the parties in the contract of sale are acceptable.

Other professional groups that may be involved in the contract of sale for real estate

Besides notaries, lawyers may also advise and represent buyers or sellers within the scope of the transaction. This particularly applies if the sole interests of a contracting party are to be represented. Notaries are tasked with providing impartial support to all parties and are obliged to work towards commutative justice calling for equivalent performances by the parties. Lawyers are independent judicial bodies with the task of providing independent advice and representation in all legal matters. They are subject to a range of professional rules and regulations, especially the Federal Code for the Legal Profession, and, when supervising a property transaction, must also exercise their task in a manner reconcilable with the position of an independent judicial body.

What type of taxes need to be paid when purchasing real estate?

The purchase of real estate is subject to real estate transfer tax.

The real estate transfer tax is based on legal processes associated with domestic real estate, to the extent that they are intended to acquire ownership of the real estate or a position similar to ownership. This particularly includes contracts of sale and other legal transactions that establish a claim to the transfer of domestic real estate. The tax rate is between 3.5% and 6.5% depending on the state.

What type of taxes need to be paid when selling real estate, including on capital gains?

When selling real estate from a pure asset management perspective, the private proceeds of sale if the period between the acquisition and sale is no more than 10 years may be subject to income tax.

If the real estate is business property, the income from the sale is subject to income as well as occupational taxes.

If the transferor is a corporate body, the income is subject to corporate tax and, potentially, occupational taxes.

The sale of real estate is also subject to real estate transfer tax. However, the buyer effectively bears the real estate transfer tax as a cost of certification. But the seller is liable as a joint debtor (Section 13 GrEStG (German Real Estate Transfer Tax Act)).

What type of taxes need to be paid for the possession of ownership?

Property tax, income tax for income from rental and leasing or second home tax may be incurred during the period of ownership of real estate.

Property tax, as an impersonal tax, is linked to the economic units of the real estate as defined in Section 2 of the German Property Tax Act (property tax A: agricultural or forestry operations and property tax B: real estate) as a tax base. It is charged without consideration of the personal circumstances and personal capacity for payment of the person liable for the payment of tax. Property tax is charged by local governments and is entirely at their disposal.

If the real estate is rented or leased, the income from rental and lease are subject to income tax or corporate tax and, potentially, occupational taxes.

Some local governments charge a secondary residence tax for owning a secondary residence in the local authority area. The secondary residence tax is a local expenditure tax. To charge and structure the secondary residence tax, the local governments enact statutes that have their legal basis in the local tax legislation of the state governments.

Further information

Responsible for the content
Federal Ministry of Finance

Federal Ministry of Justice and Consumer Protection

Last update or date of publication
07.10.2020

Voraussetzungen und Verfahren für den Erwerb von Immobilien

Informationen zu Rechten & Pflichten in #Grundsteuer und Grunderwerbsteuer

Informationen zu Rechten & Pflichten

Kauf und Verkauf von Immobilien, einschließlich aller Bedingungen und Pflichten im Zusammenhang mit der Besteuerung, dem Eigentum oder der Nutzung von Immobilien (auch als Zweitwohnsitz)

Voraussetzungen und Verfahren für den Erwerb von Immobilien

Das deutsche Recht unterscheidet zwischen dem schuldrechtlichen Rechtsgeschäft (Kaufvertrag, im Folgenden unter 1.1) und dem dinglichen Verfügungsgeschäft in Form der Übertragung des Eigentums (Übereignung, im Folgenden unter 1.2).

Kaufvertrag als schuldrechtlicher Veräußerungsvertrag

a) Zustandekommen eines Kaufvertrages über eine Immobilie und vertragstypische Pflichten

Der Kauf einer Immobilie unterliegt in Deutschland den allgemeinen kaufrechtlichen Regelungen der §§ 433 ff. des Bürgerlichen Gesetzbuchs (BGB). Durch einen Kaufvertrag über eine Immobilie verpflichtet sich der Verkäufer gemäß § 433 Absatz 1 Satz 1 BGB dem Käufer die Immobilie zu übergeben und ihm das Eigentum an der Immobilie zu verschaffen. Dabei hat der Verkäufer dem Käufer gemäß § 433 Absatz 1 Satz 2 BGB die Immobilie frei von Sach- und Rechtsmängeln zu verschaffen. Der Käufer verpflichtet sich gemäß § 433 Absatz 2 BGB, dem Verkäufer den vereinbarten Kaufpreis zu zahlen.

Damit ein Kaufvertrag wirksam zustande kommt, bedarf es einer Einigung der Vertragsparteien über die wesentlichen Punkte des Kaufvertrags ("essentialia negotii"). Zu diesen gehören der Kaufgegenstand, der Kaufpreis sowie die Bestimmung der Vertragsparteien. Für eine hinreichende Bestimmung der Immobilie genügt bei Grundstücken die Angabe des Grundbuchblattes, soweit auf diesem allein das betreffende Grundstück eingetragen ist. Im Fall eines Kaufvertrags über Wohnungseigentum _ darunter versteht man gemäß § 1 Absatz 2 des Wohnungseigentumsgesetzes (WEG) das Sondereigentum an einer separaten Wohnung in Verbindung mit dem Miteigentumsanteil an dem Gebäude/Grundstück, in/auf dem sich die Wohnung befindet _ ist danach zu differenzieren, ob die Aufteilung des Gebäudes bereits im Grundbuch vollzogen ist oder nicht: Bei einer bereits erfolgten Eintragung im Grundbuch genügt auch hier der Verweis auf das entsprechende Blatt im sogenannten Wohnungsgrundbuch _ aus dem Bestandsverzeichnis des Wohnungsgrundbuchs ergibt sich sodann, welcher Miteigentumsanteil Kaufgegenstand ist und mit welchem Sondereigentum dieser verbunden ist. Weiterer gesonderter Angaben zu Zahl, Art und Lage der Räume sowie über die Wohnflächengröße bedarf es zur Wirksamkeit des Kaufvertrags nicht. Ist die Aufteilung in Wohnungseigentum noch nicht grundbuchamtlich vollzogen, kann zur Bestimmung des Kaufgegenstands auf die Teilungsurkunde Bezug genommen werden.

Der Kaufvertrag kommt durch das Angebot einer Vertragspartei und die Annahme dieses Angebots durch die andere Vertragspartei zustande. Das Angebot zum Vertragsabschluss kann vom Verkäufer oder vom Käufer ausgehen. Ein Angebot muss mindestens festlegen, welche Immobilie Gegenstand des Vertrages sein soll und welcher Kaufpreis dafür bezahlt werden soll.

b) Erfordernis der notariellen Beurkundung

Jeder Vertrag, durch den sich jemand verpflichtet, das Eigentum an einem Grundstück zu übertragen oder zu erwerben, bedarf nach § 311b Absatz 1 Satz 1 BGB der notariellen Beurkundung. Das Erfordernis der notariellen Beurkundung dient dem Schutz vor einem übereilten und unüberlegten Vertragsabschluss und der Aufklärung der Beteiligten (näher unter c). Dadurch, dass die Beteiligten einen Notar aufsuchen müssen, wird verdeutlicht, dass es gerade nicht um ein gewöhnliches Alltagsgeschäft geht. Die Beurkundung erfüllt eine Beratungs- und Schutzfunktion. Dadurch soll nicht nur erreicht werden, dass die Verträge den gesetzlichen Vorgaben entsprechen und wirksam sind ("Gültigkeitsgewähr"). Es wird vielmehr auch durch die Urkunde unzweideutiger Beweis über die getroffenen Vereinbarungen gefasst ("Beweisfunktion"). Die Beurkundung dient so der Vermeidung von Streit und Prozessen und mithin auch der Entlastung der Gerichte. § 311b Absatz 1 Satz 1 BGB gilt für alle Veräußerungs- und Erwerbsgeschäfte über Grundstücke und damit zwingend auch über ideelle Grundstücksanteile, Wohnungs- und Teileigentum. Die Beurkundungspflicht umfasst nicht nur die Kaufpreiszahlung und die Grundstücksveräußerung, sondern auch sämtliche Nebenabreden, die nach dem Willen der Beteiligten Bestandteil des schuldrechtlichen Vertrages sein sollen, wie etwa Vereinbarungen über die Beschaffenheit der Immobilie im Sinne von § 434 Absatz 1 Satz 1 BGB. Da die notarielle Beurkundung stattfinden soll, bevor die Parteien sich rechtlich binden, erstreckt sich das Beurkundungserfordernis auch auf Rechtsgeschäfte, die mittelbar Veräußerungs- und Erwerbspflichten begründen, wie etwa den Abschluss von Reservierungsvereinbarungen mit Maklern oder die Erteilung von unwiderruflichen Veräußerungs- oder Erwerbsvollmachten.

Die notarielle Beurkundung ist grundsätzlich als Simultanbeurkundung dergestalt vorgesehen, dass Verkäufer und Käufer in einem Notartermin vor dem Notar erscheinen und dort den Kaufvertrag durch Angebot und Annahme schließen. Die Erklärungen beider Vertragsparteien werden dabei von dem Notar in einer Niederschrift protokolliert. Mit Abschluss der Niederschrift durch den Notar ist der Kaufvertrag wirksam zustande gekommen.

Es ist aber nach § 128 BGB auch möglich, dass zunächst das Angebot zum Abschluss des Kaufvertrages und dann die Annahme des Angebots von einem Notar beurkundet wird, dass also die Erklärungen der Vertragsparteien sukzessive in zwei getrennten Notarterminen beurkundet werden. Bei dieser Art der Beurkundung wird zunächst das Angebot in einer Niederschrift protokolliert. Das Angebot wird wirksam, wenn es demjenigen zugeht, mit dem der Kaufvertrag geschlossen werden soll. Ein notariell beurkundetes Angebot geht zu, wenn eine Ausfertigung der Niederschrift, in der das Angebot protokolliert wurde, zugeht. Nach § 145 BGB ist derjenige, der einem anderen den Abschluss eines Vertrages anbietet, für eine bestimmte Zeit an sein wirksames Angebot gebunden, wenn er diese Bindung nicht ausgeschlossen hat. Die Frist, innerhalb welcher das Angebot gelten soll, kann gemäß § 148 BGB von demjenigen, der das Angebot macht, ausdrücklich festgelegt werden. Ist eine Frist für die Annahme des Angebots nicht bestimmt, kann das Angebot nur bis zu dem Zeitpunkt angenommen werden, in welchem der Anbietende den Eingang der Antwort auf sein Angebot unter regelmäßigen Umständen erwarten darf (§ 147 BGB). Diese Zeitspanne beträgt nach der Rechtsprechung bei Grundstücksgeschäften regelmäßig vier Wochen. Das Angebot erlischt nach § 146 BGB, wenn es abgelehnt oder nicht rechtzeitig angenommen wird. Mit dem Erlöschen fällt das Angebot weg, so dass eine Annahme des Angebots nicht mehr möglich ist. Nach § 152 BGB kommt der Kaufvertrag grundsätzlich mit der Beurkundung der Annahme zustande, wenn zum Zeitpunkt der Annahme das Angebot noch nicht erloschen ist. Die verspätete Annahme eines Angebots gilt nach § 150 Absatz 2 BGB als neuer Antrag, der wegen der nach § 311b Absatz 1 Satz 1 BGB zu beachtenden Form nicht stillschweigend _ etwa durch Zahlung des Kaufpreises _ angenommen werden kann.

c) Verfahrensgestaltung und Belehrung durch den Notar

Zum Zwecke der Vertragsvorbereitung erörtert die Notarin oder der Notar mit den Vertragsparteien die gewünschten Vertragsinhalte, erläutert Regelungsmöglichkeiten und weist auf bestehende Risiken und alternative Gestaltungsmöglichkeiten hin. Auch die Erstellung des Kaufvertragsentwurfs entsprechend den Wünschen der Vertragsbeteiligten übernimmt die Notarin oder der Notar typischerweise, ohne dass dadurch zusätzliche Kosten entstehen. Außerdem sieht die Notarin oder der Notar vor der Beurkundung das Grundbuch ein, um Käufer und Verkäufer über bestehende Rechtsverhältnisse zu informieren (§ 21 des Beurkundungsgesetzes-BeurkG).

Im Rahmen der Beurkundung identifiziert die Notarin oder der Notar die Beteiligten (§ 10 BeurkG) und stellt deren Geschäftsfähigkeit fest (§ 11 BeurkG). Sodann wird der Immobilienkaufvertrag allen anwesenden Beteiligten vollständig vorgelesen (§ 13 BeurkG). Das Verlesen ist zwingender Bestandteil der Vertragsbeurkundung, auf den nicht verzichtet werden kann. Kann ein Vertragsbeteiligter bei der Beurkundung nicht anwesend sein, kann er sich beim Vertragsschluss grundsätzlich auch vertreten lassen. Die Notarin oder der Notar erklärt den anwesenden Beteiligten außerdem die rechtliche Bedeutung der Vertragsinhalte, belehrt sie über die Rechtsfolgen (§ 17 BeurkG) und weist auf wichtige Aspekte wie beispielsweise bestehende Genehmigungserfordernisse (§ 18 BeurkG), die Notwendigkeit einer Unbedenklichkeitsbescheinigung des Finanzamtes (§ 19 BeurkG) und gesetzliche Vorkaufsrechte (§ 20 BeurkG) hin. Auch Ergänzungen und Änderungen der Vertragsinhalte können in diesem Zusammenhang nach fachkundiger Beratung durch die Notarin oder den Notar erfolgen. Zum Abschluss der Beurkundung wird der Immobilienkaufvertrag von allen anwesenden Beteiligten und der Notarin oder dem Notar unterzeichnet und damit rechtswirksam und verbindlich (§ 13 BeurkG).

Ist an dem Immobilienkaufvertrag neben einem Unternehmer auch ein Verbraucher beteiligt, hat die Notarin oder der Notar darauf hinzuwirken, dass die rechtsgeschäftlichen Erklärungen des Verbrauchers von diesem persönlich oder durch eine Vertrauensperson vor ihnen abgegeben werden. Zum anderen soll die Notarin oder der Notar darauf hinwirken, dass dem Verbraucher ausreichend Gelegenheit gegeben wird, sich vorab mit dem Gegenstand der Beurkundung auseinander zu setzen. Letzteres geschieht im Regelfall dadurch, dass dem Verbraucher der beabsichtigte Text des Rechtsgeschäfts zwei Wochen vor der Beurkundung zur Verfügung gestellt wird (§ 17 Absatz 2a Satz 2 Nummer 1 und 2 BeurkG). Die gesetzliche Frist soll den Beteiligten Gelegenheit geben, den Vertragsentwurf genau zu studieren, aber auch sich über den Wert des Objektes und seine Tauglichkeit klar zu werden, die steuerlichen Folgen zu prüfen, aber auch bauliche Untersuchungen vorzunehmen, mithin auch diejenigen Angelegenheiten zu prüfen, die von der Notarin oder dem Notar nicht vorab geprüft oder begleitet werden.

Im Hinblick auf die notarielle Belehrungspflicht ist die Aufspaltung eines Immobilienkaufertrages in Angebot und Annahme nur bei Vorliegen eines hinreichend gewichtigen Grundes zulässig, da sie zu einem Belehrungsdefizit führen kann. Ist eine Aufspaltung sachlich gerechtfertigt, hat der Notar das Verfahren grundsätzlich so zu gestalten, dass das Angebot vom belehrungsbedürftigeren/schutzwürdigeren Beteiligten ausgeht, damit dieser Beteiligte die notarielle Beratung in vollem Umfang sowohl hinsichtlich des Angebots als auch hinsichtlich des angebotenen Vertrages erhält.

d) Folgen der Nichteinhaltung des Beurkundungserfordernisses

Die Nichteinhaltung der von § 311b Absatz 1 Satz 1 BGB vorgeschrieben notariellen Form hat nach § 125 Satz 1 BGB zur Folge, dass der Kaufvertrag nichtig ist. Der Vertrag begründet keine Rechte und Pflichten für die Vertragsparteien. Wenn allerdings das Eigentum an der Immobilie durch Auflassung und Eintragung des Käufers ins Grundbuch vom Verkäufer auf den Käufer übertragen wurde, wird die Nichtigkeit des Kaufvertrags geheilt und der Vertrag nach § 311b Absatz 1 Satz 2 BGB seinem ganzen Inhalt nach gültig. Die Heilung des Formmangels wirkt allerdings nicht auf den Zeitpunkt des Vertragsabschlusses zurück.

Eigentumsübertragung auf den Käufer durch Auflassung der Immobilie an den Käufer und Eintragung des Käufers in das Grundbuch

Durch die Beurkundung des Kaufvertrages als schuldrechtliches Veräußerungsgeschäft erlangt der Käufer noch nicht das Eigentum an der Immobilie. Zur Eigentumsübertragung auf den Käufer ist vielmehr ein dingliches Übereignungsgeschäft erforderlich, dessen Wirksamkeit voraussetzt:

a) die Einigung der Vertragsparteien über den Übergang des Eigentums an der Immobilie auf den Käufer (sog. Auflassung), die vor einem Notar erklärt werden muss (§ 873 Absatz 1, § 925 Absatz 1 BGB)

sowie

b) die Eintragung des Käufers als Eigentümer der Immobilie in das Grundbuch. 

Die Auflassung wird üblicherweise zusammen mit dem Kaufvertrag notariell beurkundet. Damit die Eintragung des Käufers als Eigentümer in das Grundbuch erfolgen kann, muss die Auflassung dem Grundbuchamt in öffentlich beglaubigter Form nachgewiesen werden (§ 29 Absatz 1 der Grundbuchordnung _ GBO). In dieser Form müssen auch entsprechende grundbuchrechtliche Bewilligungen abgegeben werden (§ 19 GBO). In der Regel wird der Notar mit dem Grundbuchvollzug (insbesondere Erklärung der Bewilligungen und Stellung der erforderlichen Anträge beim Grundbuchamt) bevollmächtigt und beauftragt.

Kosten im Zusammenhang mit einem Immobilienkaufvertrag

Nach der gesetzlichen Regelung in § 448 Absatz 2 BGB trägt der Käufer einer Immobilie die Kosten der Beurkundung des Kaufvertrages und der Auflassung, der Eintragung in das Grundbuch und der zur Eintragung erforderlichen Kosten. Zu den Kosten der Beurkundung des Kaufvertrages gehört nach der Rechtsprechung auch die Grunderwerbsteuer, da diese untrennbar mit dem Erwerbsvorgang verbunden ist.

Der Verkäufer hat gemäß § 448 Absatz 1 BGB die Kosten der Übergabe der Immobilie zu tragen.

Die vorgenannten gesetzlichen Kostenregelungen sind nicht zwingend. Abweichende Vereinbarungen der Parteien im Kaufvertrag sind mithin zulässig.

Weitere Berufsgruppen, die an einem Immobilienkaufvertrag beteiligt sein können)

Neben Notarinnen und Notaren können auch Rechtsanwältinnen und Rechtsanwälte Käufer oder Verkäufer im Rahmen der Transaktion rechtlich beraten und vertreten. Dies kommt insbesondere dann in Betracht, wenn einseitige Interessen einer Vertragspartei vertreten werden sollen. Notarinnen und Notare haben die Aufgabe der unparteiischen Betreuung aller Beteiligten und sind verpflichtet auf ausgleichende Gerechtigkeit hinzuwirken. Rechtsanwältinnen und Rechtsanwälte sind unabhängige Organe der Rechtspflege mit der Aufgabe der unabhängigen Beratung und Vertretung in allen Rechtsangelegenheiten. Sie sind einer Vielzahl von berufsrechtlichen Regelungen, insbesondere der Bundesrechtsanwaltsordnung unterworfen und müssen auch im Rahmen der Begleitung einer Eigentumstransaktion ihre Tätigkeit in einer Art und Weise ausüben, die mit der Stellung als unabhängiges Organ der Rechtspflege vereinbar ist.

W elche Art von Steuern sollte man beim Kauf einer Immobilie zahlen?

Der Kauf einer Immobilie unterliegt grundsätzlich der Grunderwerbsteuer.

Der Grunderwerbsteuer unterliegen Rechtsvorgänge im Zusammenhang mit inländischen Grundstücken, soweit sie darauf gerichtet sind, das Eigentum am Grundstück oder eine eigentümerähnliche Position zu erlangen. Hierunter fallen insbesondere Kaufverträge und sonstige Rechtsgeschäfte, die einen Anspruch auf Übereignung eines inländischen Grundstücks begründen. Der Steuersatz beträgt je nach Bundesland zwischen 3,5% und 6,5%.

W elche Art von Steuern sollte man beim V er k au f einer Immobilie zahlen, auch auf Kapitalgewinne?

Beim Verkauf einer Immobilie im Rahmen bloßer Vermögensverwaltung unterliegt der private Veräußerungserlös _ wenn der Zeitraum zwischen Anschaffung und Veräußerung nicht mehr als 10 Jahre beträgt _ ggf. der Einkommensteuer.

Stellt die Immobilie Betriebsvermögen dar, unterliegt der aus dem Verkauf erzielte Gewinn der Einkommen- und zudem auch Gewerbesteuer.

Handelt es sich bei dem Veräußerer um eine Körperschaft, unterliegt der Gewinn der Körperschaftsteuer und ggf. der Gewerbesteuer.

Auch der Verkauf einer Immobilie unterliegt der Grunderwerbsteuer. Zwar trägt grundsätzlich der Käufer die Grunderwerbsteuer als Kosten der Beurkundung. Der Verkäufer haftet jedoch als Gesamtschuldner (§ 13 GrEStG).

W elche Art von Steuern sollte man für den Besitz des Eigentums zahlen?

Während des Besitzes einer Immobilie können Grundsteuer, Einkommensteuer für Einkünfte aus Vermietung und Verpachtung oder Zweitwohnungsteuer anfallen.

Die Grundsteuer knüpft als Real- bzw. Objektsteuer an die wirtschaftlichen Einheiten des Grundbesitzes im Sinne des § 2 des Grundsteuergesetzes (Grundsteuer A: Betriebe der Land- und Forstwirtschaft und Grundsteuer B: Grundstücke) als Steuergegenstand an. Sie belastet sie ohne Rücksicht auf die persönlichen Verhältnisse und die persönliche Leistungsfähigkeit des Steuerschuldners. Die Grundsteuer wird von den Gemeinden erhoben und fließt ihnen in vollem Umfang zu.

Wird die Immobilie vermietet oder verpachtet unterliegen die Einkünfte aus Vermietung und Verpachtung der Einkommensteuer bzw. der Körperschaftsteuer und ggf. der Gewerbesteuer.

Von einigen Gemeinden wird für das Innehaben einer Zweitwohnung im Gemeindegebiet eine Zweitwohnungsteuer erhoben. Die Zweitwohnungsteuer ist eine örtliche Aufwandsteuer. Zur Erhebung und Ausgestaltung der Zweitwohnungsteuer erlassen die Gemeinden

Satzungen, die ihre Rechtsgrundlage wiederum in den Kommunalabgabengesetzen der Länder haben.

Weiterführende Informationen

Verantwortlich für den Inhalt
Bundesministerium der Finanzen

Bundesministerium der Justiz und für Verbraucherschutz

Letzte Aktualisierung bzw. Veröffentlichungsdatum
07.10.2020