Taxes and Social Insurance Contributions

Whether it’s our weekly shop, petrol for the car or our wages, we all pay taxes and social insurance contributions. Every euro we pay in tax finances state expenditure, for example on social protection and national security. This section gives you an overview of the most important topics, places to seek advice, and services related to taxes, social insurance contributions and charges.

Personal matters in “Taxes and Social Insurance Contributions”

  • Your tax return is due and you have all sorts of questions? You can find relevant advisory services, points of contact and information here. You can also find out about tax allowances or other tax relief options which you might be able to benefit from.
  • Who pays income tax? Employers deduct income tax directly from their employees’ salaries and pass it on to the tax office. The amount paid is calculated based on taxable income. Church tax is a tax collected by religious communities from their members. The amount paid is based on the amount of income tax paid.
  • What does being subject to social insurance mean? Everyone who is subject to social insurance must pay social contributions. Social contributions include health insurance, long-term care insurance, unemployment insurance and pension contributions.
  • Land tax and land transfer tax are levied on the ownership and the acquisition of land.
  • Local authorities can charge secondary home tax for secondary residences.
  • Motor vehicle owners must pay motor vehicle tax. Special provisions apply to people with disabilities.
  • Have you inherited something? You may have to pay inheritance tax. Gifts given during the lifetime of the giver are subject to gift tax.
  • Alongside the well-known taxes like income tax, land tax and inheritance tax, there are also other taxes for specific purposes, such as dog tax and trade tax.
  • The state provides numerous allowances and grants, such as the state subsidy for private pension insurance.

Steuern und Abgaben

Steuern und Abgaben

Beim Wochenendeinkauf, Tanken oder der Lohnabrechnung: Wir alle zahlen Steuern und Abgaben. Jeder Steuer-Euro finanziert die Ausgaben des Staates, zum Beispiel für soziale Sicherung oder innere Sicherheit. Dieser Bereich bietet Ihnen einen Überblick über die wichtigsten Themen, Beratungsangebote und Leistungen zu Steuern, Abgaben und Gebühren.

Lebenslagen in Steuern und Abgaben

  • # Steuererklärung

    Die Steuererklärung steht an und Sie haben jede Menge Fragen? Hier finden Sie die passenden Beratungsangebote, Anlaufstellen und Auskünfte. Außerdem erhalten Sie Informationen zu Freibeträgen oder anderen Möglichkeiten der steuerlichen Entlastung, die für Sie in Frage kommen.

  • # Einkommensteuer und Kirchensteuer

    Wer zahlt Einkommenssteuer? Arbeitgeber führen die Einkommensteuer für ihre Angestellten direkt ans Finanzamt ab. Bemessungsgrundlage ist das zu versteuernde Einkommen. Kirchensteuer ist eine Steuer, die Religionsgemeinschaften von ihren Mitgliedern erheben. Hier dient die wiederum die Einkommensteuer als Bemessungsgrundlage.

  • # Sozialabgaben

    Was bedeutet Sozialversicherungspflicht? Sozialabgaben zahlen Sie immer dann, wenn Sie sozialversicherungspflichtig sind. Zu den Sozialabgaben zählen die Beiträge für die Kranken-, Pflege-, Renten- und Arbeitslosenversicherung.

  • # Grundsteuer und Grunderwerbsteuer

    Grundsteuer und Grunderwerbsteuer werden auf den Besitz und den Erwerb von Grundstücken erhoben.

  • # Zweitwohnsteuer

    Gemeinden können für Nebenwohnsitze eine Zweitwohnungssteuer erheben.

  • # Fahrzeugsteuern

    Für Kraftfahrzeuge müssen Sie Kraftfahrzeugsteuer bezahlen. Besondere Regelungen gelten für Menschen mit Behinderungen.

  • # Erbschaftsteuer und Schenkungsteuer

    Sie haben etwas geerbt? Dafür müssen Sie unter Umständen Erbschaftsteuer zahlen. Schenkungen zu Lebzeiten unterliegen hingegen der Schenkungsteuer.

  • # Sonstige Steuern

    Neben den bekanntesten Steuern wie Einkommensteuer, Grundsteuer und Erbschaftsteuer gibt es noch weitere Steuern für besondere Bereiche, etwa die Hundesteuer oder die Gewerbesteuer.

  • # Finanzielle und sonstige Hilfen

    Der Gesetzgeber räumt zahlreiche Freibeträge und Zulagen ein, zum Beispiel die Förderung der Riester-Rente.