National Visa Unfortunately this specification of service has not yet been completely translated.

A basic requirement for entry to Germany is a visa. No visa requirement applies to: EU nationals Nationals of the following countries: Iceland Liechtenstein Norway Switzerland However, nationals of a small group of countries (e.B. USA, Canada, Australia) can also enter visa-free for a longer stay and apply for their residence permit after entry. To enter for a longer stay (beyond 3 months), you, as a national or national of another country, need a visa (national visa). Only for short stays (up to 3 months) there is a visa waiver for a number of countries. A full list can be found on the Foreign Office's website.

In principle, you must prove basic knowledge of the German language. Exceptions apply to EU citizens certain nationals, e.B. Americans legal exceptions, such as illness and consideration of hardship cases if necessary). Exceptions are checked before entry, usually when applying for a visa. The recognition of their language proof in the visa procedure is the exclusive responsibility of the German diplomatic mission abroad.

Details can be found on the website of the relevant German diplomatic mission or directly from the relevant German diplomatic mission.