Free movement of EU citizens Unfortunately this specification of service has not yet been completely translated.

Union citizens and their family members have the right to move freely within the European Union, to enter and reside in any other Member State. This right is guaranteed by Article 21 of the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union (TFEU). The provisions of the "Law on the General Free Movement of Union Citizens" (FreizügG/EU) apply to EU citizens. The right to free movement is presumed to be non-existence or loss required by the immigration authority. Nationals of Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway also enjoy freedom of movement under the Agreement on the European Economic Area. The Free Movement Act/EU also applies to this group of persons. Eu citizens do not need a visa or a residence permit to enter and stay in Germany. For stays of up to three months, they only need to be in possession of a valid passport or identity card. For a right of residence of more than three months, certain conditions must be met. Freedom of movement under Community law: workers and Union citizens wishing to stay for a certain period of time to seek work or to work, Self-employed persons and service providers, inactive Union citizens, provided that they have sufficient means of subsistence and health insurance cover, Union citizens who have acquired a right of permanent residence after five years of lawful residence, and the family members of those Union citizens when they accompany or follow the Union citizen. Like Germans, EU citizens are subject to the reporting obligation and must register with the local registration authorities. Family members of non-EU citizens of the Union require a visa to enter the country. Of their own motion, a residence card for family members of Union citizens shall be issued to them of their own motion within six months of having provided the necessary information to the immigration authority. The family member shall receive a certificate that the necessary information has been provided without delay. Union citizens and their family members have free access to the German labour market ('free movement of workers'). Excluded are nationals of the new EU Member State Croatia. They will first need an EU work permit to access the labour market during a transitional period by 30 June 2015. Access to the labour market for new EU citizens is examined and finalised by the Employment Service. A right of permanent residence is acquired by a Union citizen who has been legally resident in the Federal Republic of Germany for five years. They then have a right of residence irrespective of the existence of the conditions for freedom of movement. This also applies to his family members and his life partner if they have legally resided with the Union citizen in Germany for five years.

Due to an amendment to the EU Free Movement Act on 29 January 2013, no corresponding official certificates (freedom of movement certificates) will be issued from now on via the existing right of free movement. However, the freedom of movement rights of EU citizens and nationals of the EEA countries remain unchanged.