Trade and travel with live animals within the EU and with third countries: official veterinary check/health certificate Unfortunately this specification of service has not yet been completely translated.

If you want to import animals into the EU from a non-EU country, you need a health certificate issued by an official veterinarian.

When transporting from EU countries and importing live animals from non-EU countries into the European Union (EU), the animals must be accompanied by a health certificate. This health certificate shall confirm compliance with the health requirements for movement/import by an official veterinarian.

Animals that do not meet the health requirements may not be imported. The import of live animals must always take place through a border inspection post.

Simplified rules apply to travelling with pets within the EU. In principle, dogs, cats and ferrets must be identified and have an EU pet passport issued by the veterinarian, in which in particular the rabies vaccination is confirmed. Additional requirements are foreseen for certain Member States, such as the United Kingdom, Ireland, Sweden and Malta.

Also the bringing of dogs and cats from non-EU countries (pet import) is not easily possible. In these cases, contact your veterinarian or the responsible veterinary office in good time.

When travelling with animals to non-EU countries, the regulations of these countries apply.

Anyone who brings dogs or cats from other EU countries or imports them into the EU from third countries in order to sell them must comply with more far-reaching regulations. These may be obtained from the competent veterinary authority or the border inspection post through which the animals are to be imported.









Identification documents of the animals, for example:

  • Pet passport
  • Equine passport (identity document for horses)
  • Cattle Pass
  • Commercial documents
  • Transport certificates.
  • Regulation (EU) No 576/2013 of the European Council of 12 June 2013 on the non-commercial movement of pet animals and repealing Regulation (EC) No 998/2003
  • Commission Implementing Regulation (EU) No 577/2013 of 28 June 2013 on the model identification documents for the non-commercial movement of dogs, cats and ferrets, establishing lists of territories and third countries and laying down the format, layout and language requirements for declarations confirming compliance with certain conditions laid down in Regulation (EU) No 576/2013 of the European Parliament and of the Council
  • Ordinance on the intra-Community movement, import and transit of animals and goods (Internal Market Animal Disease Protection Ordinance - BmTierSSchV).

Related Links

  • Regulation (EU) No 576/2013
  • Regulation (EU) No 577/2013
  • BmTiersSchV

Responsible for the content
No information available

Last update or date of publication
No information available

Handel und Reiseverkehr mit lebenden Tieren innerhalb der EU und mit Drittstaaten: Amtstierärztliche Kontrolle/Gesundheitsbescheinigung

Wer Tiere aus einem Nicht-EU-Land in die EU einführen möchte, benötigt eine Gesundheitsbescheinigung, die von einer Amtstierärztin/einem Amtstierarzt ausgestellt wird.

Bei der Verbringung aus EU-Ländern und der Einfuhr von lebenden Tieren aus Nicht-EU-Ländern in die Europäische Union (EU), müssen die Tiere von einer Gesundheitsbescheinigung begleitet sein. In dieser Gesundheitsbescheinigung wird die Einhaltung der gesundheitlichen Anforderungen für die Verbringung/Einfuhr durch eine Amtstierärztin/einen Amtstierarzt bestätigt.

Tiere, welche die gesundheitlichen Anforderungen nicht erfüllen, dürfen nicht eingeführt werden. Die Einfuhr von lebenden Tieren muss immer über eine Grenzkontrollstelle erfolgen.

Für das Reisen mit Heimtieren innerhalb der EU gelten erleichterte Bestimmungen. Grundsätzlich müssen Hunde, Katzen und Frettchen gekennzeichnet sein und einen von der Haustierärztin/dem Haustierarzt ausgestellten EU-Heimtierausweis besitzen, in dem insbesondere die Tollwutimpfung bestätigt wird. Für bestimmte Mitgliedstaaten wie Großbritannien, Irland, Schweden und Malta sind zusätzliche Anforderungen vorgesehen.

Auch das Mitbringen von Hunden und Katzen aus Nicht-EU-Ländern (Haustier Einfuhr) ist nicht ohne weiteres möglich. Setzen Sie sich in diesen Fällen rechtzeitig mit Ihrer Tierärztin/Ihrem Tierarzt oder dem zuständigen Veterinäramt in Verbindung.

Bei Reisen mit Tieren in Nicht-EU-Länder gelten die Bestimmungen dieser Länder.

Wer Hunde oder Katzen aus anderen EU-Ländern verbringt bzw. aus Drittstaaten in die EU einführt, um sie zu verkaufen , hat weiterreichende Vorschriften einzuhalten. Diese können bei der zuständigen Veterinärbehörde oder der Grenzkontrollstelle, über die die Tiere eingeführt werden sollen, erfragt werden.









Identifikationspapiere der Tiere, zum Beispiel:

  • Heimtierpass,
  • Equidenpass (Identitätsdokument für Pferde)
  • Rinderpass
  • Handelsdokumente
  • Transportbescheinigungen.
  • Verordnung (EU) Nr. 576/2013 des Europäischen Rates vom 12. Juni 2013 über die Verbringung von Heimtieren zu anderen als Handelszwecken und zur Aufhebung der Verordnung (EG) Nr. 998/2003
  • Durchführungsverordnung (EU) Nr. 577/2013 der Kommission vom 28. Juni 2013 zu den Muster-Identifizierungsdokumenten für die Verbringung von Hunden, Katzen und Frettchen zu anderen als Handelszwecken, zur Erstellung der Listen der Gebiete und Drittländer sowie zur Festlegung der Anforderungen an Format, Layout und Sprache der Erklärungen zur Bestätigung der Einhaltung bestimmter Bedingungen gemäß der Verordnung (EU) Nr. 576/2013 des Europäischen Parlaments und des Rates
  • Verordnung über das innergemeinschaftliche Verbringen sowie die Einfuhr und Durchfuhr von Tieren und Waren (Binnenmarkt-Tierseuchenschutzverordnung - BmTierSSchV).

Weiterführende Links

  • Verordnung (EU) Nr. 576/2013
  • Verordnung (EU) Nr. 577/2013
  • BmTierSSchV

Verantwortlich für den Inhalt
Keine Angabe

Letzte Aktualisierung bzw. Veröffentlichungsdatum
Keine Angabe