Housing subsidy Unfortunately this specification of service has not yet been completely translated.

Housing benefit can be granted as a rent subsidy or for the owner-occupied residential property as a burden subsidy.

If the income of your private household is not sufficient according to the objective rules of the Housing Benefit Act to bear the costs of your housing yourself, you could have a legal claim to housing benefit. Housing benefit is granted to tenants as a rent subsidy and for owner-occupied residential property (owner-occupied home, condominium) as a burden subsidy.

Housing benefit is only granted on application. Decisive for the amount of the housing benefit are the size of the household, the total income of all members of the household and the amount of the rent or burden to be taken into account. The rent relevant to housing benefit includes the cold operating costs (so-called gross cold rent), but not operating costs for central heating and hot water supply facilities.

A claim to housing benefit does not exist if the costs of accommodation are covered by another social service provider, for example in the case of social assistance or unemployment benefit (ALG)II recipients.

Online housing benefit application

Since December 2019, you can also apply for housing benefit online in the following pilot municipalities in Schleswig-Holstein (state capital Kiel, Hanseatic city of Lübeck, city of Flensburg, city of Neumünster with the municipalities of Wasbek and Bönebüttel, city of Pinneberg, city of Reinbek).

Proof of income and rent or encumbrance. It is recommended to contact the competent body in advance.

Hints

Detailed information on housing benefit can be found on the website of the Ministry of the Interior, Rural Areas and Integration of the State of Schleswig-Holstein (MILI).

  • Housing subsidy

Housing Benefit Act (WoGG).

Related Links

  • WoGG

Responsible for the content
No information available

Last update or date of publication
No information available

Wohngeld

Wohngeld kann als Mietzuschuss oder für das selbst genutzte Wohneigentum als Lastenzuschuss gewährt werden.

Reicht das Einkommen Ihres privaten Haushalts nach den objektiven Regeln des Wohngeldgesetzes nicht aus, um selbst die Kosten für Ihren Wohnraum zu tragen, könnten Sie einen Rechtsanspruch auf Wohngeld haben. Wohngeld wird für Mieterinnen und Mieter als Mietzuschuss und für das selbst genutzte Wohneigentum (Eigenheim, Eigentumswohnung) als Lastenzuschuss gewährt.

Wohngeld wird nur auf Antrag gewährt. Maßgebend für die Höhe des Wohngeldes sind die Größe des Haushaltes, das Gesamteinkommen aller Mitglieder des Haushaltes und die Höhe der zu berücksichtigenden Miete beziehungsweise Belastung. Die wohngeldrelevante Miete umfasst die kalten Betriebskosten (sogenannte Brutto-Kaltmiete), nicht jedoch Betriebskosten für zentrale Heizungs- und Warmwasserversorgungseinrichtungen.

Ein Anspruch auf Wohngeld besteht nicht, wenn die Kosten der Unterkunft von einem anderen Sozialleistungsträger übernommen werden, zum Beispiel bei Sozialhilfe oder Arbeitslosengeld-(ALG)-II-Empfängerinnen und -empfängern.

Online-Wohngeldantrag

Seit Dezember 2019 können Sie in den nachstehenden Pilotkommunen in Schleswig-Holstein Ihren Wohngeldantrag auch online stellen (Landeshauptstadt Kiel, Hansestadt Lübeck, Stadt Flensburg, Stadt Neumünster mit den Gemeinden Wasbek und Bönebüttel, Stadt Pinneberg, Stadt Reinbek). 

Nachweise zum Einkommen und zur Miete oder Belastung. Es wird empfohlen sich diesbezüglich vorab mit der zuständigen Stelle in Verbindung zu setzen.

Hinweise

Ausführliche Informationen zum Wohngeld finden Sie auf den Internetseiten des Ministeriums für Inneres, ländliche Räume und Integration des Landes Schleswig-Holstein (MILI).

  • Wohngeld

Wohngeldgesetz (WoGG).

Weiterführende Links

  • WoGG

Verantwortlich für den Inhalt
Keine Angabe

Letzte Aktualisierung bzw. Veröffentlichungsdatum
Keine Angabe