Study fees in Lower Saxony: Survey Unfortunately this specification of service has not yet been completely translated.

As of the winter semester 2014/2015, the state of Lower Saxony no longer charges tuition fees. Lower Saxony thus makes a significant contribution to increasing equal opportunities in access to higher education. Financial barriers to entry will be removed in order to enable more young people to study.

The country will replace universities 100 per cent of the tuition fees that have been lost. These funds may only be used to further improve the quality of teaching and study conditions at universities in Lower Saxony. The country is dynamically adapting the funds to the number of students.

Related Links

  • Informationen zu den Studiengebühren auf den Seiten des Niedersächsischen Ministeriums für Wissenschaft und Kultur (MWK)

No documents are required.

Hints

What is new is that students have a binding say on how the money is used at their university. A corresponding amendment is included in the Lower Saxony Higher Education Act (NHG).

At the same time as the abolition of tuition fees, Lower Saxony is improving conditions for long-term students. If students exceed the standard study period, they will in future only have to pay long-term tuition fees after six semesters, and not after 4 semesters as before.

It also takes into account the education of children, the care of close relatives and higher education policy activities. Fees will also be significantly reduced. The changes are intended to help increase the success rate of studies.

  • Niedersächsische Hochschulgesetz (NHG)

Related Links

  • Niedersächsische Hochschulgesetz (NHG)

Responsible for the content
Lower Saxony Ministry of Science and Culture

Last update or date of publication
27.05.2014

Studienbeiträge in Niedersachsen: Erhebung

Ab dem Wintersemester 2014/2015 erhebt das Land Niedersachsen keine Studiengebühren mehr. Damit leistet Niedersachsen einen wesentlichen Beitrag für mehr Chancengleichheit beim Hochschulzugang. Finanzielle Zugangshürden werden abgebaut, um mehr jungen Menschen ein Studium zu ermöglichen.

Das Land wird den Hochschulen die wegfallenden Studiengebühren zu 100 Prozent ersetzen. Diese Mittel dürfen ausschließlich dafür verwendet werden, um die Qualität der Lehre und der Studienbedingungen an den niedersächsischen Hochschulen weiter zu verbessern. Das Land passt die Mittel dynamisch an die Zahl der Studierenden an.

Weiterführende Links

  • Informationen zu den Studiengebühren auf den Seiten des Niedersächsischen Ministeriums für Wissenschaft und Kultur (MWK)

Es werden keine Unterlagen benötigt.

Hinweise

Neu ist, dass die Studierenden verbindlich mitbestimmen können, wie das Geld an ihrer Hochschule eingesetzt wird. Eine entsprechende Änderung wird in das Niedersächsische Hochschulgesetz (NHG) aufgenommen.

Zeitgleich mit der Abschaffung der Studiengebühren verbessert Niedersachsen die Bedingungen für Langzeitstudierende. Überschreiten Studierende die Regelstudienzeit, müssen sie künftig erst nach sechs Semestern Langzeitstudiengebühren bezahlen, und nicht wie bisher schon nach 4 Semestern.

Auch werden die Erziehung von Kindern, die Pflege von nahen Angehörigen und hochschulpolitische Tätigkeit berücksichtigt. Die Gebühren werden zudem deutlich gesenkt. Die Änderungen sollen dazu beitragen, die Studienerfolgsquote zu erhöhen.

  • Niedersächsische Hochschulgesetz (NHG)

Weiterführende Links

  • Niedersächsische Hochschulgesetz (NHG)

Verantwortlich für den Inhalt
Niedersächsisches Ministerium für Wissenschaft und Kultur

Letzte Aktualisierung bzw. Veröffentlichungsdatum
27.05.2014