Apply for maintenance of a pavement crossing/access road

Sidewalk crossings to state and district roads outside the access area of the local thoroughfares are in principle special uses subject to approval.

A sidewalk crossing or an access road is the connection of adjacent properties or non-public paths with a road intended or suitable for use with vehicles.

Outside the passage through the village, access roads generally represent a special use subject to authorisation. In urban areas, access roads are the outflow of the common use of the road and therefore do not require a permit.

Both in and out of town, no special use permit is required for pure maintenance measures on an existing access road. However, the access road owner must obtain the consent of the road construction authority if road construction facilities are to be structurally modified during the maintenance of the access road or if structural measures are to be taken on the road property.

The respective municipality is responsible for access roads in the city, and the respective carrier of the road construction load, i.e. the road construction authority acting on its behalf, is responsible for access roads outside the city. The Lower Saxony State Authority for Road Construction and Transport (NLStBV) is responsible for state roads and district roads in the districts of Friesland, Wittmund, Northeim, Goslar, Hameln-Pyrmont, Schaumburg, Hildesheim, Cloppenburg, Diepholz, Nienburg, Ammerland, Oldenburg, Wesermarsch. Here, the responsibility for the administration of the state roads and the above-mentioned district roads is regionally divided into 13 business areas of the NLStBV (for the area of responsibility of the NLStBV see link under further information).

For work in the area of public roads, a traffic authority order may also be required under certain circumstances. Please inquire here in advance with the responsible traffic authority whether a traffic authority permit is necessary for your construction project.

  • Notification of planned maintenance work to the competent authority
  • Please ask the municipality responsible for you or the regional division of nlStBV whether and which other documents you have to submit.
  • Forms: none
  • Online procedure possible: no
  • Written form required: no
  • Personal appearance required: no

Preconditions

Pure maintenance measures on an existing access road must be reported to the respective road construction authority if road construction facilities are to be structurally changed during the maintenance of the access road or if structural measures are to be taken on the road property.

The road construction authority then gives its consent, taking into account road construction and traffic concerns.

Hints

  • Information on access roads on state roads can be found in the guidelines for the use of federal trunk roads in the construction load of the federal government (so-called usage guidelines), which also apply to the state roads in Lower Saxony. The usage guidelines are published on the website of the Federal Ministry of Transport.
  • Information on the area of responsibility of the 13 regional divisions of NLStBV can be found on the website.
  • Website of the Federal Ministry of Transport
  • Website of the NLStBV

Related Links

  • §§ 18, 20 Lower Saxony Road Act (NStrG)

Pure maintenance work on access roads outside and in the city must be reported to the competent authority in advance and their consent must be obtained.Please ensure that you inform the authority of maintenance measures at an early stage.

  • In the case of extensive measures, it may be advisable to carry out a site visit in advance with the responsible road construction authority and the respective road maintenance department.
  • The competent authority then checks whether the planned maintenance work is compatible with road construction concerns.
  • If necessary, the responsible road traffic authority must also be involved.

Responsible for the content
Lower Saxony State Authority for Road Construction and Transport

Last update or date of publication
04.02.2022

Instandhaltung einer Gehwegüberfahrt/ Zufahrt beantragen

Gehwegüberfahrten zu Landes- und Kreisstraßen außerhalb des Erschließungsbereichs der Ortsdurchfahrten stellen grundsätzlich erlaubnispflichtige Sondernutzungen dar.

Eine Gehwegüberfahrt bzw. eine Zufahrt ist die für die Benutzung mit Fahrzeugen bestimmte oder geeignete Verbindung von anliegenden Grundstücken oder von nicht-öffentlichen Wegen mit einer Straße.

Außerhalb der Ortsdurchfahrt stellen Zufahrten grundsätzlich eine erlaubnispflichtige Sondernutzung dar. Innerorts sind Zufahrten Ausfluss des Gemeingebrauchs der Straße und bedürfen somit keiner Erlaubnis.

Sowohl innerorts als auch außerorts sind für reine Instandhaltungsmaßnahmen an einer bestehenden Zufahrt keine Sondernutzungserlaubnis erforderlich.  Jedoch muss der Zufahrteninhaber das Einverständnis der Straßenbaubehörde einholen, wenn bei der Instandhaltung der Zufahrt Straßenbauanlagen baulich verändert oder auf dem Straßengrundstück bauliche Maßnahmen getroffen werden sollen.

Für Zufahrten innerorts ist die jeweilige Gemeinde zuständig, für Zufahrten außerorts der jeweilige Träger der Straßenbaulast, d.h. die für ihn tätig werdende Straßenbaubehörde.  Für Landesstraßen und Kreisstraßen der Landkreise Friesland, Wittmund, Northeim, Goslar, Hameln-Pyrmont, Schaumburg, Hildesheim, Cloppenburg, Diepholz, Nienburg, Ammerland, Oldenburg, Wesermarsch ist die Niedersächsische Landesbehörde für Straßenbau und Verkehr (NLStBV) zuständig. Hierbei ist die Zuständigkeit für die Verwaltung der Landesstraßen und der o.g. Kreisstraßen regional auf 13 Geschäftsbereiche der NLStBV aufgeteilt (zum Zuständigkeitsbereich der NLStBV s. Link unter weiterführende Informationen).

Für Arbeiten im Bereich öffentlicher Straßen kann daneben unter Umständen eine verkehrsbehördliche Anordnung erforderlich sein. Bitte erkundigen Sie sich hier im Vorfeld bei der zuständigen Verkehrsbehörde, ob eine verkehrsbehördliche Genehmigung für Ihre Baumaßnahme notwendig ist.

  • Anzeige der geplanten Instandhaltungsarbeiten bei der zuständigen Behörde
  • Bitte erfragen Sie in der für Sie zuständigen Gemeinde oder im regionalen Geschäftsbereich der NLStBV, ob und welche weitere Unterlagen Sie einreichen müssen.
  • Formulare: keine
  • Onlineverfahren möglich: nein
  • Schriftform erforderlich: nein
  • Persönliches Erscheinen nötig: nein

Voraussetzungen

Reine Instandhaltungsmaßnahmen an einer bestehenden Zufahrt müssen bei der jeweiligen Straßenbaubehörde angezeigt werden, wenn bei der Instandhaltung der Zufahrt Straßenbauanlagen baulich verändert oder auf dem Straßengrundstück bauliche Maßnahmen getroffen werden sollen.

Die Straßenbaubehörde erteilt sodann unter Berücksichtigung straßenbaulicher und verkehrlicher Belange ihr Einverständnis.

Hinweise

  • Informationen zu Zufahrten an Landesstraßen finden Sie in den Richtlinien für die Benutzung der Bundesfernstraßen in der Baulast des Bundes (sog. Nutzungsrichtlinien), die auch für die Landesstraßen in Niedersachsen zur Anwendung kommen. Die Nutzungsrichtlinien sind auf der Internetseite des Bundesverkehrsministeriums veröffentlicht.
  • Informationen zum Zuständigkeitsbereich der 13 regionalen Geschäftsbereiche der NLStBV finden Sie auf der Webseite.
  • Internetseite des Bundesverkehrsministeriums
  • Webseite der NLStBV

Weiterführende Links

  • §§ 18, 20 Niedersächsisches Straßengesetz (NStrG)

Reine Instandhaltungsarbeiten an Zufahrten außerorts und innerorts sind der zuständigen Behörde im Vorfeld anzuzeigen und ihr Einverständnis ist einzuholen.  Stellen Sie bitte sicher, dass Sie frühzeitig die Behörde über Instandhaltungsmaßnahmen informieren.

  • Bei umfangreichen Maßnahmen kann es angezeigt sein, im Vorfeld mit der zuständigen Straßenbaubehörde und der jeweiligen Straßenmeisterei eine Ortsbesichtigung durchzuführen.
  • Die zuständige Behörde prüft dann, ob die geplanten Instandhaltungsarbeiten mit straßenbaulichen Belangen vereinbar sind.
  • Ggf. ist auch die zuständige Straßenverkehrsbehörde zu beteiligen.

Verantwortlich für den Inhalt
Niedersächsische Landesbehörde für Straßenbau und Verkehr

Letzte Aktualisierung bzw. Veröffentlichungsdatum
04.02.2022