Deferral of procedural costs in insolvency proceedings Unfortunately this specification of service has not yet been completely translated.

If you do not have sufficient assets to pay the costs of conducting insolvency proceedings, you can (as a natural person) apply for a deferral of the costs of the proceedings.

When conducting insolvency proceedings, procedural costs are incurred, which can be considerable (see "Costs of insolvency proceedings"). Only if these costs are covered can insolvency proceedings be opened with the possibility of obtaining discharge of residual debt. If you do not have sufficient assets or do not receive an advance on procedural costs from third parties, you can apply for a deferral of the costs of the proceedings. Your spouse is in principle obliged to pay an advance on procedural costs; only if your spouse is also unable to pay, a deferral of the costs of the proceedings can be considered.

The deferral means that you do not have to make any payments - usually until the discharge of residual debt has been granted. The deferred costs of the proceedings are to be paid primarily from the insolvency estate during the insolvency proceedings and until the end of the assignment declaration. If the costs of the proceedings have not yet been repaid to the state treasury or have not been repaid in full after the discharge of residual debt has been granted, payment in instalments may be granted for a maximum of 48 months. The prerequisite for this is that you are not in a position to cover the outstanding costs of the proceedings at once.

The court may change its decision on the granting of the deferral if your personal or economic circumstances that are decisive for the decision have changed significantly. Such a change must be notified to the court without delay. If you do not comply with this obligation despite a request from the court, the deferral may be lifted.

If the conditions for this are met, the court grants the deferral separately for each stage of the proceedings. Stages of the proceedings are in particular the opening proceedings, the actual insolvency proceedings and the discharge of residual debt proceedings.

  • Application for the opening of insolvency proceedings
  • Admissible application for discharge of residual debt
  • Application for deferral of the costs of the proceedings with attached declaration that there is no ground for refusal under § 290 sec. 1 no. 1 InsO. Such a reason exists if you have been finally sentenced to a fine of more than 90 daily rates or to a custodial sentence of more than three months in the last five years before the application for the opening of insolvency proceedings or after this application for a criminal offence under Sections 283 to 283c of the Criminal Code.
  • The request for deferral must be accompanied by a statement of the assets, in particular of the amount of current income, of the current liabilities together with the corresponding supporting documents. The insolvency courts also provide forms for this declaration of personal and economic circumstances.

If an advance claim against the spouse under § 1360a sec. 4 BGB or life partner pursuant to § 5 LPartG comes into consideration, the application must contain information on the spouse's ability to pay, the origin of the liabilities and the causes of the debt, so that the court can assess the question of the obligation to advance (see BGH, decision of 24 July 2003 IX ZB 539/02, juris paragraph 19) (We, 15/10)

Preconditions

  • Deferral of the costs of the proceedings can only be granted to natural persons (not possible for legal persons, for example a GmbH)
  • Application for deferral of the costs of the proceedings
  • Application for the opening of insolvency proceedings
  • Admissible application for discharge of residual debt, i.e. the deadlines of § 287a InsO must be complied with and there are no grounds for refusal (read also "Residual debt exemption").
  • It must be able to achieve an exemption from the liabilities in the insolvency proceedings.

Related Links

  • § 4a ff. Paragraph 1 of the Insolvency Code (InsO)
  • § 290 Insolvency Code (InsO)
  • § 1380a Abs. 4 Bürgerliches Gesetzbuch (BGB)
  • If you have filed an application for the opening of insolvency proceedings, the insolvency court will check whether the costs of the proceedings are covered.
  • If there is no cost recovery, the insolvency court will request an advance on court costs from you.
  • If you do not have sufficient assets to pay this advance, you can apply for a deferral of the costs of the proceedings.
  • In order to speed up the proceedings, it is advisability to file the application for deferral at the same time as the application for the opening of insolvency proceedings.

Responsible for the content
No information available

Last update or date of publication
01.11.2021

Verfahrenskostenstundung im Insolvenzverfahren

Verfügen Sie über kein ausreichendes Vermögen um die Kosten für die Durchführung eines Insolvenzverfahrens zu bezahlen, können Sie (als natürliche Person) die Stundung der Verfahrenskosten beantragen.

Bei der Durchführung eines Insolvenzverfahrens fallen Verfahrenskosten an, die erheblich sein können (lesen Sie dazu "Kosten des Insolvenzverfahrens"). Nur wenn diese Kosten gedeckt sind, kann ein Insolvenzverfahren mit der Möglichkeit, Restschuldbefreiung zu erlangen, eröffnet werden. Verfügen Sie über kein ausreichendes Vermögen oder erhalten Sie von Dritten keinen Verfahrenskostenvorschuss, können Sie die Stundung der Verfahrenskosten beantragen. Ihre Ehepartnerin oder Ihr Ehepartner ist grundsätzlich verpflichtet ist, einen Verfahrenskostenvorschuss zu zahlen; nur wenn auch Ihre Ehepartnerin oder Ihr Ehepartner nicht leistungsfähig ist, kommt eine Stundung der Verfahrenskosten in Betracht.

Die Stundung bewirkt, dass Sie - in der Regel bis zur Erteilung der Restschuldbefreiung - keine Zahlungen zu leisten haben. Die gestundeten Verfahrenskosten sind während des Insolvenzverfahrens und bis zum Ende der Abtretungserklärung vorrangig aus der Insolvenzmasse zu begleichen. Sind die Verfahrenskosten nach der Erteilung der Restschuldbefreiung noch nicht oder nicht vollständig an die Staatskasse zurückgezahlt, kann für höchstens 48 Monate Ratenzahlung bewilligt werden. Voraussetzung dafür ist, dass Sie nicht in der Lage sind, die noch offenen Verfahrenskosten auf einmal zu bestreiten.

Das Gericht kann seine Entscheidung über die Bewilligung der Stundung ändern, wenn sich Ihre für die Entscheidung maßgebenden persönlichen oder wirtschaftlichen Verhältnisse wesentlich geändert haben. Eine solche Änderung ist dem Gericht unverzüglich mitzuteilen. Kommen Sie dieser Verpflichtung trotz einer Aufforderung des Gerichts nicht nach, kann die Stundung aufgehoben werden.

Das Gericht bewilligt sofern die Voraussetzungen dafür vorliegen die Stundung für jeden Verfahrensabschnitt gesondert. Verfahrensabschnitte sind insbesondere das Eröffnungsverfahren, das eigentliche Insolvenzverfahren und das Restschuldbefreiungsverfahren.

  • Antrag auf Eröffnung des Insolvenzverfahrens
  • Zulässiger Antrag auf Restschuldbefreiung
  • Antrag auf Stundung der Verfahrenskosten mit beigefügter Erklärung, dass kein Versagungsgrund nach § 290 Abs. 1 Nr. 1 InsO vorliegt. Ein solcher Grund ist gegeben, wenn Sie in den letzten fünf Jahren vor dem Antrag auf Eröffnung des Insolvenzverfahrens oder nach diesem Antrag wegen einer Straftat nach den §§ 283 bis 283c des Strafgesetzbuchs rechtskräftig zu einer Geldstrafe von mehr als 90 Tagessätzen oder zu einer Freiheitsstrafe von mehr als drei Monaten verurteilt worden sind.
  • Dem Stundungsantrag ist eine Aufstellung über das Vermögen, insbesondere über die Höhe der laufenden Einnahmen, über die laufenden Verbindlichkeiten mitsamt den entsprechenden Belegen beizufügen. Auch für diese Erklärung über die persönlichen und wirtschaftlichen Verhältnisse stellen die Insolvenzgerichte Vordrucke zur Verfügung.

Kommt ein Vorschussanspruch gegen den Ehegatten nach § 1360a Abs. 4 BGB oder Lebenspartner nach § 5 LPartG in Betracht, muss der Antrag Ausführungen zur Leistungsfähigkeit des Ehegatten, zur Entstehung der Verbindlichkeiten und den Ursachen der Verschuldung enthalten, damit das Gericht die Frage der Vorschusspflicht beurteilen kann (vgl. BGH, Beschl. v. 24. Juli 2003  IX ZB 539/02, juris Rn. 19) (We, 15/10)

Voraussetzungen

  • Stundung der Verfahrenskosten kann nur natürlichen Personen gewährt werden (nicht möglich für juristische Personen, beispielsweise eine GmbH)
  • Antrag auf Stundung der Verfahrenskosten
  • Antrag auf Eröffnung des Insolvenzverfahrens
  • Zulässiger Antrag auf Restschuldbefreiung, d.h. die Fristen des § 287a InsO sind einzuhalten und keine Versagungsgründe liegen vor (Lesen Sie hierzu auch "Restschuldbefreiung").
  • Es muss eine Befreiung von den Verbindlichkeiten in dem Insolvenzverfahren erreicht werden können.

Weiterführende Links

  • § 4a ff.Absatz 1 Insolvenzordnung (InsO)
  • § 290 Insolvenzordnung (InsO)
  • § 1380a Abs. 4 Bürgerliches Gesetzbuch (BGB)
  • Haben Sie einen Antrag auf Eröffnung des Insolvenzverfahrens gestellt, prüft das Insolvenzgericht, ob die Verfahrenskosten gedeckt sind.
  • Falls keine Kostendeckung vorliegt, fordert das Insolvenzgericht bei Ihnen einen Gerichtskostenvorschuss an.
  • Verfügen Sie über kein ausreichendes Vermögen, um diesen Vorschuss zu bezahlen, können Sie einen Antrag auf Stundung der Verfahrenskosten stellen.
  • Zur Verfahrensbeschleunigung bietet es sich an, den Stundungsantrag bereits zeitgleich mit dem Antrag auf Eröffnung des Insolvenzverfahrens zu stellen.

Verantwortlich für den Inhalt
Keine Angabe

Letzte Aktualisierung bzw. Veröffentlichungsdatum
01.11.2021