Granting or refusal of discharge of residual debt

To be freed from the debts can succeed through the successful conclusion of a residual debt discharge procedure.

The residual debt discharge procedure (see also text "Residual debt discharge procedure" or expiry of the residual debt discharge procedure) usually ends with a court decision: Granting or refusal of the residual debt exemption by a decision of the insolvency court.

If the proceedings have not been terminated prematurely, the insolvency court usually decides on the application for discharge of residual debt when the assignment period has expired. The assignment period is 3 years (or 5 years in a new procedure). The court first gives the persons involved in the proceedings the opportunity to comment. Insolvency creditors as well as the trustee can apply for the refusal of the discharge of residual debt.

If a creditor submits an application for refusal, the ground for refusal on which he relies must be substantiated and presented in a comprehensible description of the facts. If you dispute these facts, the creditor must make the factual presentation credible. If the credibility is successful, the insolvency court determines the facts relevant to the decision ex officio.

If, after your hearing and after clarification of the facts, the court does not find a reason for refusal, it rejects the application for refusal of the discharge of residual debt. If, on the other hand, a ground for refusal is established, the insolvency court may decide to refuse the discharge of residual debt, taking into account all the circumstances of the individual case.

As a rule, the granting of the discharge of residual debt is effective against all insolvency creditors. It refers to debts that were already established at the time of the opening of insolvency proceedings and have not yet been repaid. It also applies to insolvency creditors who have not lodged their claims. The so-called estate liabilities, i.e. the obligations that have arisen in connection with the insolvency proceedings, do not fall under the residual debt exemption. Similarly, the discharge of residual debt does not cover other new debts that have been established only after the opening of insolvency proceedings, in particular the recurring obligations to pay maintenance or apartment rent after the opening date. In addition, certain claims are excluded from the discharge of residual debt; these include, inter alia, fines, fines, periodic penalty payments and liabilities arising from an intentionally committed tort (e.B bodily injury, damage to property), provided that the creditors have indicated the facts from which they consider this legal ground to arise when filing their claim.

However, it should be noted that which liabilities are covered by the residual debt exemption and which are not, can only be determined specifically on the basis of the circumstances of the respective individual case.

If the discharge of residual debt has already been granted, it can also be revoked retrospectively at the request of an insolvency creditor if, for example, it subsequently turns out that the debtor intentionally violates one of his obligations and has thereby significantly impaired the satisfaction of the insolvency creditors or if the debtor has intentionally or grossly negligently violated obligations to provide information or cooperate after granting the discharge of residual debt, which he has violated according to the Insolvency Code

see requirements

Forms/online services available: Yes

Written form required: Yes

Informal application possible: No

Personal appearance necessary: No

Preconditions

  • Admissible application for discharge of residual debt has been filed
  • the assignment period has expired
  • No ground for refusal has been established by the insolvency court at the request of a creditor.
  • Discharge of residual debt - economic restart (bmjv.de)
  • Insolvency Law I Lower Saxony State Justice Portal

Related Links

  • ยง 287 paragraph 1 Insolvency Code (InsO)
  • The granting or refusal of the discharge of residual debt takes place at the end of the residual debt discharge procedure. Consumers must file the application for discharge of residual debt with the insolvency application or immediately after this application. Other persons should combine the application for discharge of residual debt with the insolvency application.
  • Even before the opening of insolvency proceedings, the insolvency court examines whether the application for discharge of residual debt is admissible.
  • If residual debt exemption was granted in insolvency proceedings filed after 1 October 2020, a new application for residual debt exemption is only admissible after eleven years
  • If the application for discharge of residual debt is admissible (for example, because the debtor has not yet been granted or denied discharge of residual debt.dem), the court regularly finds at the opening of insolvency proceedings that the debtor obtains discharge of residual debt if no reasons for the refusal of discharge of residual debt are known in the insolvency proceedings and in the subsequent conduct of business period and asserted by the creditors and the debtor fulfils certain obligations in the conduct of business period.

Responsible for the content
Lower Saxony Ministry of Justice

Last update or date of publication
01.11.2021

Erteilung oder Versagung der Restschuldbefreiung

Von den Schulden befreit zu werden, kann durch den erfolgreichen Abschluss eines Restschuldbefreiungsverfahren gelingen.

Das Restschuldbefreiungsverfahren (siehe auch Text "Restschuldbefreiungsverfahren" bzw. Ablauf des Restschuldbefreiungsverfahrens) endet in der Regel mit einer gerichtlichen Entscheidung: Erteilung oder Versagung der Restschuldbefreiung durch einen Beschluss des Insolvenzgerichts.

Ist das Verfahren nicht vorzeitig beendet worden, so entscheidet das Insolvenzgericht üblicherweise über den Restschuldbefreiungsantrag, wenn die Abtretungsfrist verstrichen ist.  Die Abtretungsfrist beträgt 3 Jahre (bzw. 5 Jahre in einem erneuten Verfahren). Das Gericht gibt zunächst den am Verfahren beteiligten Personen Gelegenheit zur Stellungnahme. Insolvenzgläubiger sowie der Treuhänder können die Versagung der Restschuldbefreiung beantragen.

Stellt ein Gläubiger einen Versagungsantrag, so ist der Versagungsgrund, auf den er sich beruft, substantiiert unter nachvollziehbarer Schilderung des Sachverhalts darzulegen. Bestreiten Sie diese dargelegten Tatsachen, hat der Gläubiger den Sachvortrag glaubhaft zu machen. Gelingt die Glaubhaftmachung, ermittelt das Insolvenzgericht die entscheidungserheblichen Tatsachen von Amts wegen.

Stellt das Gericht nach Ihrer Anhörung und nach Aufklärung des Sachverhalts keinen Versagungsgrund fest, so weist es den Antrag auf Versagung der Restschuldbefreiung zurück. Wird hingegen ein Versagungsgrund festgestellt, so kann das Insolvenzgericht unter Berücksichtigung sämtlicher Umstände des jeweiligen Einzelfalls die Versagung der Restschuldbefreiung beschließen.

Die Erteilung der Restschuldbefreiung wirkt in der Regel gegen alle Insolvenzgläubiger. Sie bezieht sich auf die Schulden, die bei Eröffnung des Insolvenzverfahrens schon begründet waren und noch nicht getilgt sind. Sie gilt auch gegenüber Insolvenzgläubiger, die ihre Forderungen nicht angemeldet haben. Nicht unter die Restschuldbefreiung fallen die sog. Masseverbindlichkeiten, also die Verpflichtungen, die im Zusammenhang mit dem Insolvenzverfahren entstanden sind. Ebenso erfasst die Restschuldbefreiung nicht die sonstigen neuen Schulden, die erst nach der Eröffnung des Insolvenzverfahrens begründet worden sind, insbesondere nicht die ständig wiederkehrenden Verpflichtungen zur Zahlung von Unterhalt oder Wohnungsmiete nach dem Eröffnungsstichtag. Zudem sind von der Restschuldbefreiung bestimmte Forderungen ausgenommen; hierzu zählen u.a. Geldstrafen, Geldbußen, Zwangs- und Ordnungsgelder und Verbindlichkeiten aus einer vorsätzlich begangenen unerlaubten Handlung (z. B. Körperverletzung, Sachbeschädigung), sofern die Gläubigerinnen und Gläubiger bei der Anmeldung ihrer Forderung die Tatsachen angegeben haben, aus denen sich ihrer Einschätzung nach dieser Rechtsgrund ergibt.

Zu beachten ist allerdings: Welche Verbindlichkeiten von der Restschuldbefreiung umfasst sind und welche nicht, kann konkret nur anhand der Umstände des jeweiligen Einzelfalls festgestellt werden.

Ist die Restschuldbefreiung bereits erteilt, kann sie auch nachträglich auf Antrag eines Insolvenzgläubigers widerrufen werden, wenn beispielsweise sich nachträglich herausstellt, dass der Schuldner eine seiner Obliegenheiten vorsätzlich verletzt und dadurch die Befriedigung der Insolvenzgläubiger erheblich beeinträchtigt hat oder der Schuldner nach Erteilung der Restschuldbefreiung Auskunfts- oder Mitwirkungspflichten vorsätzlich oder grob fahrlässig verletzt hat, die ihm nach der Insolvenzordnung

siehe Voraussetzungen

Formulare/Online-Dienste vorhanden: Ja

Schriftform erforderlich: Ja

Formlose Antragsstellung möglich: Nein

Persönliches Erscheinen nötig: Nein

Voraussetzungen

  • Zulässiger Antrag auf Restschuldbefreiung gestellt wurde
  • die Abtretungsfrist abgelaufen ist
  • Kein Versagungsgrund auf Antrag eines Gläubigers durch das Insolvenzgericht festgestellt worden ist.
  • Restschuldbefreiung - wirtschaftlicher Neustart (bmjv.de)
  • Insolvenzrecht I Niedersächsisches Landesjustizportal

Weiterführende Links

  • § 287 Absatz 1 Insolvenzordnung (InsO)
  • Die Erteilung oder Versagung der Restschuldbefreiung erfolgt am Ende des Restschuldbefreiungsverfahrens. Verbraucherinnen und Verbraucher haben den Antrag auf Restschuldbefreiung mit dem Insolvenzantrag oder unverzüglich nach diesem Antrag zu stellen. Sonstige Personen sollen den Antrag auf Restschuldbefreiung mit dem Insolvenzantrag verbinden.
  • Das Insolvenzgericht prüft noch vor Eröffnung des Insolvenzverfahrens, ob der Antrag auf Restschuldbefreiung zulässig ist.
  • Wurde Restschuldbefreiung in einem nach dem 1. Oktober 2020 beantragten Insolvenzverfahren erteilt, ist ein erneuter Antrag auf Erteilung von Restschuldbefreiung erst nach elf Jahren zulässig
  • Ist der Antrag auf Restschuldbefreiung zulässig (etwa weil der Schuldnerin bzw. dem Schuldner Restschuldbefreiung bisher weder erteilt noch versagt worden ist), stellt das Gericht regelmäßig mit Eröffnung des Insolvenzverfahrens fest, dass die Schuldnerin bzw. der Schuldner Restschuldbefreiung erlangt, wenn im Insolvenzverfahren und in der sich anschließenden Wohlverhaltensperiode keine Gründe für die Versagung der Restschuldbefreiung bekannt und von den Gläubigerinnen und Gläubigern geltend gemacht werden und die Schuldnerin bzw. der Schuldner in der Wohlverhaltensperiode bestimmte Obliegenheit erfüllt.

Verantwortlich für den Inhalt
Niedersächsisches Justizministerium

Letzte Aktualisierung bzw. Veröffentlichungsdatum
01.11.2021