Permission to use the professional title "engineer"

The professional title "engineer" is protected by the Lower Saxony Engineering Act (NIngG). The same applies to word combinations and similar designations (see also § 1 NIngG). In order to protect consumers, it should be ensured that only sufficiently qualified persons practise the profession under the professional title "engineer". Such protection of the professional title makes it necessary that the existing professional qualification is checked for compliance with the requirements applicable under the NIngG.

If you do not have a domestic engineering/university degree that meets the requirements (see also § 6 No. 1 NIngG), you need a permit from the Lower Saxony Chamber of Engineers (see also § 6 No. 5 in verb.m §§ 7 to 9 (NIngG) to use a protected professional title, if you have a residence or a branch in Lower Saxony, or practice their profession in whole or in part, but not only temporarily and occasionally, in Lower Saxony, this does not apply if you have already received a permit from a competent authority of another federal state.

  • Copy of proof of identity ( passport )
  • officially certified copies of the foreign original degree and the foreign subjects / transcript of grades
  • Translations of the degree and the subject overview into the German language, which must be confirmed by a publicly appointed and sworn translator
  • Curriculum vitae, which in particular also shows the relevant professional experience and relevant further qualifications
  • Declaration/Proof of reliability
  • Certificate of non-prohibition/no criminal record

Note: A list of foreign universities recognised in the Federal Republic of Germany can be found on the Internet (www.anabin.de). If you have any questions about the equivalence of foreign degrees, you can also contact the Central Office for Foreign Education (ZAB: www.kmk.org). It is responsible for the assessment of foreign qualifications in Germany. (Postal address: Secretariat of the Standing Conference of the Ministers of Education and Cultural Affairs of the Länder in the Federal Republic of Germany, Taubenstraße 10, 10117 Berlin).

The granting of the authorisation to use the professional title presupposes that the applicant has a place of residence or a professional establishment in Lower Saxony or exercises the profession in whole or in part, but not only temporarily and occasionally, in Lower Saxony (§ 6 NIngG).

Please have all the necessary documents ready for the electronic application. Without the complete documents, you will not be able to complete the electronic application process and submit your application.

Applications can be submitted at any time in writing or online to the Lower Saxony Chamber of Engineers.

  • Forms for download: Approval
    Link to page IngKN
     

  • Online Procedure
    Link to the online application
  • Personal appearance may be required, e.B. if compensatory measure becomes necessary

Related Links

  • Application for authorisation to use the professional title

Preconditions

  • No significant differences between the professional qualification obtained by a foreign engineer/degree or a professional qualification entitling to practice the engineering profession in another European country and a domestic qualification that entitles the holder to use the professional title "engineer" (at least three years standard period of study, studies at least 70% characterized by mathematics, computer science, natural sciences, technology (MINT)).
  • An exception applies to the fields of agriculture and industrial engineering insofar as only a MINT share of at least 51% must be achieved.
  • For persons with qualifications from EU, EEA or equivalent countries, it is possible, under certain conditions, to compensate for significant differences in qualifications by completing an adaptation course and/or an aptitude test.

Further details can be found in §§ 7 and 8 NIngG (see legal basis)
 

Insert a direct link to the website of the Chamber of Engineers, on which the statutes for the regulation of details for the implementation of compensatory measures pursuant to § 8 paragraph 3 of the Lower Saxony Engineering Act (NIngG) are published.

  • Further information

Related Links

  • § 6 No. 5 in Verb. m. §§ 7 to 9 NIngG
  • The NIngG as well as the articles of association for the regulation of details for the implementation of compensatory measures according to § 8 paragraph 3 NIngG can be found here:

An application for Permission to use the professional title "engineer" must be given in writing or online using the form provided. The supporting documents referred to in 'Required documents' shall be attached to the application.

The further procedure is essentially regulated in § 9 NIngG.

Responsible for the content
Chamber of Engineers of Lower Saxony

Last update or date of publication
27.11.2020

Genehmigung zum Führen der Berufsbezeichnung "Ingenieurin" oder "Ingenieur"

Die Berufsbezeichnung "Ingenieurin" oder "Ingenieur" ist durch das Niedersächsische Ingenieurgesetz (NIngG) geschützt. Gleiches gilt für Wortverbindungen und ähnliche Bezeichnungen (s. auch § 1 NIngG). Zum Schutz der Verbraucher soll gewährleistet werden, dass unter der Berufsbezeichnung "Ingenieurin" oder "Ingenieur" nur hinreichend qualifizierte Personen den Beruf ausüben. Ein solcher Schutz der Berufsbezeichnung macht es notwendig, dass die vorhandene Berufsqualifikation auf die Übereinstimmung mit den nach dem NIngG geltenden Anforderungen geprüft wird.

Wenn Sie nicht über einen den Anforderungen entsprechenden inländischen Ingenieur-/Studienabschluss verfügen (s. auch § 6 Nr. 1 NIngG), benötigen Sie zum Führen einer geschützten Berufsbezeichnung eine Genehmigung der Ingenieurkammer Niedersachsen (s. auch § 6 Nr. 5 in Verb. m. §§ 7 bis 9 (NIngG), sofern Sie einen Wohnsitz oder eine Niederlassung in Niedersachsen haben, oder ihren Beruf ganz oder teilweise, aber nicht nur vorübergehend und gelegentlich, in Niedersachsen ausüben, Dies gilt nicht, wenn Sie bereits eine Genehmigung einer zuständigen Stelle eines anderen Bundeslandes erhalten haben.


  • Kopie Identitätsnachweis ( Reisepass )
  • amtlich beglaubigte Kopien des ausländischen Originalabschlusses und der ausländischen Fächer / Notenübersicht
  • Übersetzungen des Abschlusses und der Fächerübersicht in die deutsche Sprache, die von einem öffentlich bestellten und beeidigten Übersetzer bestätigt sein müssen
  • Lebenslauf, aus dem insbesondere auch die einschlägige Berufserfahrung und einschlägige weitere Qualifikationen hervorgehen
  • Erklärung/Nachweis Zuverlässigkeit
  • Bescheinigung Nichtuntersagung/keine Vorstrafen

Hinweis: Eine Liste der in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland anerkannten ausländischen Hochschulen finden Sie im Internet (www.anabin.de). Für Fragen zum Thema Gleichwertigkeit von ausländischen Studienabschlüssen können Sie sich auch an die Zentrale Stelle für ausländisches Bildungswesen (ZAB: www.kmk.org) wenden. Sie ist für die Bewertung ausländischer Qualifikationen in Deutschland zuständig. (Postanschrift: Sekretariat der Ständigen Konferenz der Kultusminister der Länder in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland, Taubenstraße 10, 10117 Berlin).

Die Erteilung der Genehmigung zum Führen der Berufsbezeichnung setzt voraus, dass die Antragstellerin oder der Antragsteller einen Wohnsitz oder eine berufliche Niederlassung in Niedersachsen hat oder den Beruf ganz oder teilweise, aber nicht nur vorübergehend und gelegentlich, in Niedersachsen ausübt (§ 6 NIngG).

Halten Sie bitte für die elektronische Antragstellung alle erforderlichen Unterlagen bereit. Ohne die vollständigen Unterlagen können Sie das elektronische Antragsverfahren nicht abschließen und Ihren Antrag nicht absenden.

 



Anträge können jederzeit schriftlich oder online bei der Ingenieurkammer Niedersachen eingereicht werden.

  • Formulare zum Download: Genehmigung
    Link auf Seite IngKN
     
  • OnlineVerfahren
    Link zum OnlineAntrag
  • Persönliches Erscheinen evtl. erforderlich, z.B. falls Ausgleichmaßnahme notwendig wird

Weiterführende Links

Voraussetzungen
  • Keine wesentlichen Unterschiede zwischen der durch einen ausländischen Ingenieur/Studienabschluss erlangten bzw. einer im europäischen Ausland zur Ausübung des Ingenieurberufs berechtigenden Berufsqualifikation und einem inländischen Abschluss, der zum Führen der Berufsbezeichnung "Ingenieurin" oder "Ingenieur" berechtigt (mindestens dreijährige Regelstudienzeit, Studium zu mindestens 70 % geprägt von Mathematik, Informatik, Naturwissenschaft, Technik (MINT)).
  • Eine Ausnahme gilt für die Fachrichtungen Agrar und Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen insoweit als nur ein MINT-Anteil von mindestens 51 % erreicht werden muss.
  • Für Personen mit Qualifikationsnachweisen aus EU, EWR- oder gleichgestellten Staaten besteht unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen die Möglichkeit, wesentliche Qualifikationsunterschiede durch Absolvieren eines Anpassungslehrgangs und/oder einer Eignungsprüfung auszugleichen.

Weitere Einzelheiten ergeben sich aus den §§ 7 und 8 NIngG (siehe Rechtsgrundlage) 
 

Direkten Link zur Seite der Ingenieurkammer, auf der die Satzung zur Regelung von Einzelheiten zur Durchführung von Ausgleichsmaßnahmen nach § 8 Absatz 3 Niedersächsisches Ingenieurgesetz (NIngG) veröffentlicht ist, einfügen.

Ein Antrag auf Genehmigung zum Führen der Berufsbezeichnung "Ingenieurin" oder "Ingenieur" ist schriftlich oder online mit dem bereitstehenden Formular zu stellen. Die unter "erforderliche Unterlagen" genannten Nachweise sind dem Antrag beizufügen.

Das weitere Verfahren ist im Wesentlichen in § 9 NIngG geregelt.


Verantwortlich für den Inhalt
Ingenieurkammer Niedersachsen

Letzte Aktualisierung bzw. Veröffentlichungsdatum
27.11.2020