ELStAM, general information on the procedure
Unfortunately this specification of service has not yet been completely translated.

Hier können Sie sich einen groben Überblick über die elektronischen Lohnsteuersteuerabzugsmerkmale verschaffen.
With the electronic wage tax deduction features (ELStAM), the wage tax card was replaced by an electronic procedure in 2014. This is also called an electronic wage tax card.

The electronic provision of wage tax deduction features facilitates and accelerates communication between employees, employers and the tax office, since in most cases it can be completely paperless.

Your own ELStAM can be called up free of charge and changed on request.

For general questions about the ELStAM procedure see further links.

In the future, it is planned that the income tax deduction characteristics can also be called up electronically via the ELStAM procedure for all persons who are not required to register in Germany. In a first stage, since January 1st, 2020, employees with limited income tax liability under Section 1 (4) EStG (in particular cross-border commuters or seasonal workers) have been involved in this process. For this, employers need the identification number (IdNr) and the date of birth of their employees. The issuance of the certificate for the income tax deduction for employees with limited income tax liability is therefore no longer necessary.
However, in the case of employees who are not subject to the obligation to register, the employer is only provided with tax class I (main employment) or VI (secondary employment).
The participation of employees in the ELStAM procedure who are subject to limited tax liability under § 1 Para. 4 EStG and for whom an allowance within the meaning of § 39a EStG is taken into account or whose wages are exempt from taxation according to the regulations in double taxation agreements or the tax deduction according to the regulations in Double taxation agreement is reduced or limited upon request, but is not yet planned. In these cases, as before, a paper certificate for the income tax deduction will be issued upon request. The employee subject to limited income tax liability must submit the paper certificate to the employer immediately.

No

Preconditions

  • Unlimited tax liability
  • Registration by your employer, stating the tax identification number

Hints

  • Hamburg citizens can contact any regional tax office in Hamburg for ELStAM matters.
  • The registration offices are responsible for changing the civil status data in the register (e.g. marriage, birth).
  • A certificate for the wage tax deduction will only be issued if the ELStAM cannot be made available to the employer electronically for technical reasons. The certificate must be presented to the employer. If necessary, this must be changed by the tax office. This applies until the ELStAM can be made electronically available to the employer.
  • The submission of an informal ELStAM printout from the tax authorities is not permitted as proof of the wage tax deduction features.
Section 39e Income Tax Act and Section 139b Tax Code.

Related Links

  • ELStAM - information for employees
  • ELStAM - Notes on delivery of the ELStAM at the turn of the year
  • ELStAM - information for employers
  • ELStAM - Important questions for employees and employers about the ELStAM process
The employer needs certain information (tax class, number of children, allowances and religious affiliation) in order to be able to calculate the wage tax of the employees and pay it to the tax office.
  • This information is stored in a database of the tax authorities and made available for the employer to access electronically.
  • Changes, either due to changes in the data under the law on registration (e.g. marriage, birth of a child, church entry or exit) or due to an application by the employee to the tax office (e.g. change of tax class or application for an exemption) are also made available in the database.
  • These changes are technically processed at the beginning of the following month and made available for the employer to access.
  • If the employer receives retroactive changes, he has to carry out a retroactive calculation (e.g. marriage on October 15th, data retrieval by the employer on November 5th - consideration of the changed tax class from November and retrospectively for October).
  • The submission of an income tax card or a corresponding replacement certificate is no longer required and can no longer be requested by the employer.

Responsible for the content
No information available

Last update or date of publication
No information available

ELStAM, Allgemeine Informationen zum Verfahren

Hier können Sie sich einen groben Überblick über die elektronischen Lohnsteuersteuerabzugsmerkmale verschaffen.
Mit den Elektronischen LohnSteuerAbzugsMerkmalen (ELStAM) wurde die Lohnsteuerkarte im Jahr 2014 durch ein elektronisches Verfahren ersetzt. Dieses wird auch elektronische Lohnsteuerkarte genannt.

Die elektronische Bereitstellung der Lohnsteuerabzugsmerkmale erleichtert und beschleunigt die Kommunikation zwischen Arbeitnehmer, Arbeitgeber und Finanzamt, da sie in den meisten Fällen komplett papierlos erfolgen kann.

Die eigenen ELStAM können kostenfrei abgerufen und auf Antrag geändert werden.

Für allgemeine Fragen zum ELStAM-Verfahren siehe weiterführende Links.

Zukünftig ist vorgesehen, dass die Lohnsteuerabzugsmerkmale auch für alle im Inland nicht meldepflichtigen Personen elektronisch über das ELStAM-Verfahren abgerufen werden können. In einer ersten Stufe werden dabei seit dem 01.01.2020 zunächst die nach § 1 Abs. 4 EStG beschränkt einkommensteuerpflichtigen Arbeitnehmer (insbesondere Grenzpendler oder Saisonarbeitskräfte) in dieses Verfahren eingebunden. Hierfür benötigen Arbeitgeber die Identifikationsnummer (IdNr) und das Geburtsdatum ihrer Arbeitnehmer. Die Ausstellung der Bescheinigung für den Lohnsteuerabzug für beschränkt einkommensteuerpflichtige Arbeitnehmer entfällt damit grundsätzlich.
Bei den nicht meldepflichtigen Arbeitnehmern wird dem Arbeitgeber allerdings nur die Steuerklasse I (Hauptarbeitsverhältnis) oder VI (Nebenarbeitsverhältnis) bereitgestellt.
Die Teilnahme von Arbeitnehmern am ELStAM-Verfahren, die nach § 1 Abs. 4 EStG beschränkt steuerpflichtig sind und für die ein Freibetrag i.S.d. § 39a EStG berücksichtigt wird oder deren Arbeitslohn nach den Regelungen in Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen von der Besteuerung freigestellt oder der Steuerabzug nach den Regelungen in Doppelbesteuerungsabkommen auf Antrag gemindert oder begrenzt wird, ist jedoch noch nicht vorgesehen. In diesen Fällen wird wie bisher auf Antrag eine Papierbescheinigung für den Lohnsteuerabzug ausgestellt. Der beschränkt einkommensteuerpflichtige Arbeitnehmer hat dem Arbeitgeber die Papierbescheinigung unverzüglich vorzulegen.

Keine

Voraussetzungen

  • Unbeschränkte Steuerpflicht
  • Anmeldung durch Ihren Arbeitgeber unter Angabe der Steueridentifikationsnummer

Hinweise

  • Bei ELStAM-Angelegenheiten können sich Hamburger Bürger an jedes Regionalfinanzamt in Hamburg wenden.
  • Für die Änderung der Personenstandsdaten im Melderegister (z.B. Heirat, Geburt) sind die Meldeämter verantwortlich.
  • Eine Bescheinigung für den Lohnsteuerabzug wird nur noch dann ausgestellt, wenn dem Arbeitgeber die ELStAM aus technischen Gründen nicht elektronisch zur Verfügung gestellt werden können. Die Bescheinigung muss dem Arbeitgeber vorgelegt werden. Bei Bedarf muss diese vom Finanzamt geändert werden. Dies gilt so lange, bis die ELStAM dem Arbeitgeber elektronisch zur Verfügung gestellt werden können.
  • Die Vorlage eines formlosen ELStAM-Ausdrucks der Finanzverwaltung ist als Nachweis der Lohnsteuerabzugsmerkmale nicht zulässig.
§ 39e Einkommensteuergesetz und § 139b Abgabenordnung.

Weiterführende Links

  • ELStAM - Informationen für Arbeitnehmer
  • ELStAM - Hinweise zur Auslieferung der ELStAM zum Jahreswechsel
  • ELStAM - Informationen für Arbeitgeber
  • ELStAM - Wichtige Fragen für Arbeitnehmer und Arbeitgeber zum ELStAM-Verfahren
Der Arbeitgeber benötigt bestimmte Informationen (Steuerklasse, Anzahl der Kinder, Freibeträge und Religionszugehörigkeit), um die Lohnsteuer der Arbeitnehmer berechnen und an das Finanzamt abführen zu können.
  • Diese Angaben werden in einer Datenbank der Finanzverwaltung hinterlegt und zum elektronischen Abruf für die Arbeitgeber bereitgestellt. 
  • Änderungen, entweder durch Änderung der melderechtlichen Daten (z.B. Heirat, Geburt eines Kindes, Kirchenein- oder austritt) oder aufgrund eines Antrags des Arbeitnehmers beim Finanzamt (z.B. Steuerklassenwechsel oder Beantragung eines Freibetrags), werden ebenfalls in der Datenbank bereitgestellt.
  • Diese Änderungen werden zu Beginn des Folgemonats technisch verarbeitet und für den Arbeitgeber zum Abruf bereitgestellt.
  • Erhält der Arbeitgeber rückwirkend gültige Änderungen, hat er eine Rückrechnung vorzunehmen (z.B. Heirat am 15. Oktober, Datenabruf durch den Arbeitgeber am 5. November - Berücksichtigung der geänderten Steuerklasse ab November und rückwirkend für Oktober).
  • Die Vorlage einer Lohnsteuerkarte oder einer entsprechenden Ersatzbescheinigung ist nicht mehr erforderlich und kann vom Arbeitgeber nicht mehr verlangt werden.

Verantwortlich für den Inhalt
Keine Angabe

Letzte Aktualisierung bzw. Veröffentlichungsdatum
Keine Angabe