Income tax return, employee submission

In certain cases, employees are obliged to submit an income tax return without prior request by the tax office, because the actual annual tax liability can only be determined by means of an assessment.

This is the case, for example, when

  • the positive sum of the income that has not been subject to wage tax deduction, such as income from textile business, agriculture and forestry, self-employed work or pensions from the statutory pension insurance, is more than 410 euros per year or
  • the positive sum of certain wage replacement benefits, such as short-time work allowance, unemployment benefit and sickness benefit, was more than 410 euros per year or
  • both spouses have received wages and one of them is taxed according to tax class V or VI or
  • the factor method has been used for tax class IV or
  • an employee has received wages from several employers (including pensions) at the same time, or
  • An exemption has been granted by the tax office as part of the wage tax reduction procedure (ELStAM) (except for the number of child allowances or lump sum for disabled people) and the total wage achieved in the 2020 calendar year is 11,900 euros (2021: 12,250 euros), for spouses / partners who are assessed together Exceeds 22,600 euros (2021: 23,350 euros).

Anyone who is asked to do so by the tax office is also required to submit an income tax return. However, the obligation to submit an income tax return does not necessarily mean that an additional income tax payment can be expected. In fact, in these cases, too, there is often a tax refund, especially if there is no further income or tax-increasing facts.
No

Hints

In addition to the information and collection points of the responsible tax office, you can also go to the information and collection points of the other Hamburg tax offices.

In the tax office that is not regionally responsible, there is no access to the procedure and inquiries about specific tax cases cannot be answered.

If employees generate income from agriculture and forestry, from commercial operations or from self-employed work of more than EUR 410 per year, the tax return must generally be transmitted to the tax office using the officially prescribed data set by remote data transmission (electronically).
The tax office in whose district the employee is domiciled at the time of filing the income tax return is responsible for the income tax assessment.

Related Links

  • Forms to download Tax Administration Hamburg
  • Tax forms for the Federal Ministry of Finance
  • Tax office (my responsible)
  • Income tax return, submission deadline, deadline extension

Responsible for the content
No information available

Last update or date of publication
No information available

Einkommensteuererklärung, Abgabepflicht von Arbeitnehmern

Arbeitnehmer sind in bestimmten Fällen ohne vorherige Aufforderung durch das Finanzamt verpflichtet, eine Einkommensteuererklärung abzugeben, weil die tatsächliche Jahressteuerschuld erst im Wege einer Veranlagung ermittelt werden kann.

Dies ist zum Beispiel der Fall, wenn

  • die positive Summe der Einkünfte, die nicht dem Lohnsteuerabzug unterlegen haben, wie z.B. Einkünfte aus Gewebebetrieb, Land- und Forstwirtschaft, selbständiger Arbeit oder Renten aus der gesetzlichen Rentenversicherung, mehr als 410 Euro jährlich beträgt oder
  • die positive Summe bestimmter Lohnersatzleistungen, wie zum Beispiel Kurzarbeitergeld, Arbeitslosengeld und Krankengeld, mehr als 410 Euro im Jahr betragen hat oder
  • beide Ehegatten Arbeitslohn bezogen haben und einer von ihnen nach der Steuerklasse V oder VI besteuert oder
  • bei Steuerklasse IV das Faktorverfahren angewandt worden ist oder
  • ein Arbeitnehmer gleichzeitig Arbeitslohn von mehreren Arbeitgebern (einschließlich Versorgungsbezüge) bezogen hat oder
  • vom Finanzamt im Rahmen des Lohnsteuer-Ermäßigungsverfahrens (ELStAM) ein Freibetrag gewährt worden ist (ausgenommen Zahl der Kinderfreibeträge oder Pauschbetrag für behinderte Menschen) und der im Kalenderjahr 2020 insgesamt erzielte Arbeitslohn 11.900 Euro (2021: 12.250 Euro), bei zusammen veranlagten Ehegatten/Lebenspartnern 22.600 Euro (2021: 23.350 Euro) übersteigt.

Zur Abgabe einer Einkommensteuererklärung ist außerdem jeder verpflichtet, der vom Finanzamt hierzu aufgefordert wird. Die Verpflichtung zur Abgabe einer Einkommensteuererklärung bedeutet jedoch nicht zwangsläufig, dass eine Einkommensteuer-Nachzahlung zu erwarten ist. Vielmehr kommt es häufig auch in diesen Fällen zu einer Steuererstattung, insbesondere dann, wenn keine weiteren Einkünfte oder steuererhöhenden Tatsachen vorliegen.
Keine

Hinweise

Neben den Informations- und Annahmestellen des zuständigen Finanzamts können auch die Informations- und Annahmestellen der übrigen Hamburger Finanzämter aufgesucht werden.

Im regional nicht zuständigen Finanzamt besteht keine Verfahrenseinsicht und Anfragen zum konkreten Steuerfall können nicht beantwortet werden.

Wenn Arbeitnehmer Einkünfte aus Land-und Forstwirtschaft, aus Gewerbebetrieb oder aus selbstständiger Arbeit von mehr als 410 Euro jährlich erzielen, muss die Steuererklärung grundsätzlich nach amtlich vorgeschriebenem Datensatz durch Datenfernübertragung (elektronisch) an das Finanzamt übermittelt werden.
Zuständig für die Einkommensteuerveranlagung ist das Finanzamt, in dessen Bezirk der Arbeitnehmer zum Zeitpunkt der Abgabe der Einkommensteuererklärung seinen Wohnsitz hat.

Weiterführende Links

  • Formulare zum Download Steuerverwaltung Hamburg
  • Steuerformulare Bundesfinanzministerium
  • Finanzamt (mein zuständiges)
  • Einkommensteuererklärung, Abgabefrist, Fristverlängerung

Verantwortlich für den Inhalt
Keine Angabe

Letzte Aktualisierung bzw. Veröffentlichungsdatum
Keine Angabe