Parental allowance - assessment basis

Employees: The assessment basis for parental allowance is generally based on the last 12 months before the birth of the child or before the start of maternity leave. Exceptions: 1. Loss of income due to pregnancy-related illness, which means that the period can be postponed; 2. Parental allowance for older children.

Self-employed and freelancers
(also applies if they are not self-employed at the same time):

For births from 01/01/2013 : As soon as self-employed activity has been carried out in the relevant 12 months prior to the birth, the calendar year prior to the birth is the sole assessment basis for all income and no longer the possibly different assessment period. This also applies if the self-employed activity is no longer carried out or a non-self-employed activity is carried out at the same time.

Income that is not taxed domestically or that is not treated as income in Germany (income from EU, EEA and Switzerland countries is assimilated) is not included in the parental allowance calculation.

Hints

The basis for calculating the parental allowance is exclusively the income from non-self-employed, freelance / self-employed activities as well as from commercial operations or agriculture and forestry. This does not include income from, for example, rentals, capital assets. (Exception: people who are subject to wealth tax, see also parental allowance income limit).

Related Links

  • Form: Parental Allowance - Certificate B - Employer's proof of employment, barrier-free, PDF
  • Form: Parental Allowance - Certificate A - from the health insurance company / office on maternity benefits
  • Parental AllowanceDigital: Apply for parental allowance with digital support
  • Parental allowance - Corona pandemic information sheet, PDF, barrier-free, 1 page
  • Information sheet about necessary documents (parental allowance) for births from September 1st, 2021 - barrier-free, PDF
  • Form: Parental Allowance - Certificate A - for births from 01.09.2021

Responsible for the content
No information available

Last update or date of publication
No information available

Elterngeld - Bemessungsgrundlage

Arbeitnehmer: Bemessungsgrundlage für Elterngeld richtet sich grundsätzlich nach den letzten 12 Monaten vor der Geburt des Kindes bzw. vor Beginn des Mutterschutzes. Ausnahmen: 1.Einkommensverlust durch schwangerschaftsbedingte Erkrankung, dadurch Verschiebung des Zeitraums möglich; 2.Elterngeld für ältere Kinder.

Selbständige und Freiberufler
(gilt auch wenn diese gleichzeitig nichtselbständig tätig sind):

Für Geburten ab 01.01.2013: Sobald in den maßgeblichen 12 Monaten vor Geburt eine selbstständige Tätigkeit ausgeübt wurde, gilt ausschließlich das Kalenderjahr vor Geburt als Bemessungsgrundlage für alle Einkünfte und nicht mehr der ggf. abweichende Veranlagungszeitraum. Dies gilt auch, wenn die selbstständige Tätigkeit nicht mehr oder gleichzeitig eine nichtselbstständige Tätigkeit ausgeübt wird.

Einnahmen, die nicht im Inland versteuert werden oder nicht inländischen Einnahmen gleichgestellt sind (gleichgestellt sind die Einkommen aus Ländern der EU, EWR sowie der Schweiz), werden nicht als Einkommen bei der Elterngeldberechnung berücksichtigt.

Hinweise

Grundlage für die Elterngeldberechnung ist ausschließlich das Einkommen aus nichtselbstständiger, freiberuflicher/selbstständiger Tätigkeit sowie aus Gewerbebetrieb oder Land- und Forstwirtschaft. Dazu zählen nicht Einkünfte aus z.B. Vermietungen, Kapitalvermögen. (Ausnahme: Personen, die unter die Reichensteuer fallen, siehe auch Elterngeld  Einkommensgrenze).

Weiterführende Links

  • Formular: Elterngeld - Bescheinigung B - Beschäftigungsnachweis des Arbeitgebers, barrierefrei, PDF
  • Formular: Elterngeld - Bescheinigung A - der Krankenkasse / Dienststelle über Mutterschaftsbezüge
  • ElterngeldDigital: Beantragen Sie Elterngeld mit digitaler Unterstützung
  • Elterngeld - Merkblatt Corona-Pandemie, PDF, barrierefrei, 1 Seite
  • Infoblatt über notwendige Unterlagen (Elterngeld) für Geburten ab 01.09.2021 - barrierefrei, PDF
  • Formular: Elterngeld - Bescheinigung A - für Geburten ab 01.09.2021

Verantwortlich für den Inhalt
Keine Angabe

Letzte Aktualisierung bzw. Veröffentlichungsdatum
Keine Angabe