Register as election worker Unfortunately this specification of service has not yet been completely translated.

On election day, poll workers are employed as members of the election committees or as assistants in conducting the election either in the polling station or in the counting of the absentee ballot. Their tasks include, for example:

  • Checking the eligibility to vote on the basis of the electoral roll
  • Issuing the ballot papers
  • Release of the ballot box for the insertion of the ballot paper
  • Assistance with the determination of the election result

Election assistants must exercise their office impartially (e.g. they are not allowed to wear any sign indicating their own political conviction) and are obliged to secrecy about the matters which have become known to them during their official activity.

For the exercise of this honorary office an expense allowance is paid. This amounts to 60-70€ for the federal election, depending on the position in the election committee.

And what is with Corona?

The health of the election worker:inside and voter:inside has naturally highest priority.

During the election there is a hygiene concept for the polling stations as well as for the central counting of the postal votes. Among other things, this provides for the already known measures such as distance, mask obligation and regular hand disinfection, but also a one-way rule in the polling station, spit shields and disposable pens should minimize the risk of infection. In addition, care was taken to select polling stations that are large enough to ensure the necessary distance.

Preconditions

Election workers must themselves be eligible to vote in the election in question. For the Bundestag election, this means that you have reached the age of 18, are a German citizen and have been resident in Germany for at least three months.

To become active as an election worker, you do not need any previous experience. Depending on the position within the election committee, training is offered to prepare the election workers for their work.

The activity as an election worker is voluntary and obligatory. It may be rejected only for important reasons.

What is recognized as an important reason, decides in principle the election authority. The existence of an important reason must be proven.

Note: On the basis of a law or collective agreement, there may be a right to time off work or special leave for an activity as an election worker.

Hints

The electoral office may collect and process personal data (surname, first names, date of birth, address, telephone numbers, number of appeals made) of persons entitled to vote for the purpose of their appointment as election assistants. Data may also be processed for future elections, provided the persons concerned have not objected to the processing of their data. The data subjects must be informed of their right to object.

Special features of the individual elections

  • Election of the German Bundestag and the European Parliament:

In the election of the German Bundestag and the European Parliament, there is one electoral board per electoral district, which carries out its activities locally at the polling station. It is responsible both for the election procedure (voting from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.) and for determining the election result.

As a rule, election assistants must already be present on the day of the election before the polling stations open in order to make preparations. During election day, attendance is usually in shifts. After the polling stations close, the polling officers must be present until all the votes have been counted.

In addition, there are postal ballot committees that carry out their activities at a central location. They meet at noon and first decide on the admission of the letters of election. After the polling stations close, they count the votes cast by postal vote.

  • Election of the Bremische Bürgerschaft, the advisory councils in the city of Bremen and the Bremerhaven city council

In these elections, so-called urn election committees are appointed in the polling stations. They are responsible there for supervising the election process (voting). After the polling stations close at 6 p.m., they are still responsible for final papers, after which they may terminate their activity, but only after the election documents have been handed over to the persons responsible.

The counting of votes is the responsibility of independent counting committees. They will meet on election day from about 6 p.m. onwards in the premises designated for counting (generally a central counting centre). Each counting committee will count at least one electoral district on the evening of the election with regard to the citizenship election. Counting will continue on the following days (until about Friday after the election).

In view of the more complex five-vote voting system, more comprehensive training of the election workers is required - especially for the counting committees.

If the activity as an election assistant is to be refused for important reasons, proof of these reasons must be provided (e.g. a medical certificate).

  • Bundeswahlgesetz (BWahlG), s. §§ 8 bis 11
  • Bundeswahlordnung (BWO), s. §§ 6 bis 11 
  • Europawahlgesetz (EuWG), s. § 5 
  • Europawahlordnung (EuWO), s. §§ 6 bis 11 
  • Bremisches Wahlgesetz (BremWahlG)
  • Bremische Landeswahlordnung (BremLWO), s. §§ 6 bis 10 
  • Bremische Verfassung 
  • Ortsgesetz über Beiräte und Ortsämter-[Ortsbeirätegesetz]

The registration as an election worker can be made at the election office on a voluntary basis. You can also indicate a preferred constituency or a wish to work together with friends or family. Also the preferred position in the election committee can be indicated. The election office will then try to take this into account.

For the commitment as an election worker, an expense allowance of up to 70 € is paid.

Responsible for the content
No information available

Last update or date of publication
No information available

Als Wahlhelfer:in melden

Am Wahltag werden Wahlhelfer:innen als Mitglieder der Wahlvorstände oder als Hilfskräfte bei der Durchführung der Wahl entweder im Wahllokal oder bei der Auszählung der Briefwahl eingesetzt. Zu ihren Aufgaben zählen beispielsweise:

  • Überprüfung der Wahlberechtigung aufgrund des Wählerverzeichnisses
  • Ausgabe der Stimmzettel
  • Freigabe der Wahlurne für den Einwurf des Stimmzettels
  • Mitarbeit bei der Ermittlung des Wahlergebnisses

Wahlhelfer:innen müssen ihr Amt unparteiisch wahrnehmen (z.B. dürfen sie auch kein Zeichen tragen, das auf die eigene politische Überzeugung hinweist) und sind zur Verschwiegenheit über die ihnen bei ihrer amtlichen Tätigkeit bekannt gewordenen Angelegenheiten verpflichtet.

Für die Ausübung dieses Ehrenamtes wird eine Aufwandsentschädigung gezahlt. Diese beträgt bei der Bundestagswahl je nach Position im Wahlvorstand 60-70€.

Und was ist mit Corona?

Die Gesundheit der Wahlhelfer:innen und Wähler:innen hat natürlich höchste Priorität.

Bei der Durchführung der Wahl gibt es sowohl für die Wahllokale als auch für die zentrale Auszählung der Briefwahlstimmen ein Hygienekonzept. Dieses sieht unter anderem die bereits bekannten Maßnahmen wie Abstand, Maskenpflicht und regelmäßiges Händedesinfizieren vor, aber auch eine Einbahnstraßenregelung im Wahllokal, Spuckschutzwände und Einmalstifte sollen das Infektionsrisiko minimieren. Zusätzlich wurde darauf geachtet Wahllokale auszuwählen, die groß genug sind um den nötigen Abstand gewährleisten zu können.

Voraussetzungen

Wahlhelfer:innen müssen selbst bei der betreffenden Wahl wahlberechtigt sein. Das bedeutet für die Bundestagswahl, dass man das 18. Lebensjahr vollendet hat, deutsche:r Staatsbürger:in ist und seit mindestens drei Monaten seinen Wohnsitz in Deutschland hat.

Um als Wahlhelfer:in aktiv zu werden, braucht man keine Vorkenntnisse. Je nach Position innerhalb des Wahlvorstandes wird eine Schulung angeboten um die Wahlhelfer:innen optimal auf ihren Einsatz vorzubereiten.

Die Tätigkeit als Wahlhelfer:in erfolgt ehrenamtlich und ist verpflichtend. Sie darf nur aus wichtigen Gründen abgelehnt werden.

Was als wichtiger Grund anerkannt wird, entscheidet grundsätzlich die Wahlbehörde. Das Bestehen eines wichtigen Grundes muss nachgewiesen werden.

Hinweis: Aufgrund eines Gesetzes oder Tarifvertrages kann ein Recht auf Arbeitsfreistellung oder Sonderurlaub für eine Tätigkeit als Wahlhelferin oder Wahlhelfer bestehen.

Hinweise

Das Wahlamt darf personenbezogene Daten (Name, Vornamen, Geburtsdatum, Anschrift, Telefonnummern, Zahl der erfolgten Berufungen) von Wahlberechtigten zum Zweck ihrer Berufung zum/zur Wahlhelfer:in erheben und weiterverarbeiten. Die Verarbeitung der Daten darf auch für künftige Wahlen erfolgen, sofern die Betroffenen der Verarbeitung ihrer Daten nicht widersprochen haben. Die Betroffenen müssen über das Widerspruchsrecht unterrichtet werden.

Besonderheiten bei den einzelnen Wahlen

Wahl des Deutschen Bundestages und des Europaparlaments:

Bei der Wahl des Deutschen Bundestages und des Europaparlaments gibt es je Wahlbezirk einen Wahlvorstand, der seine Tätigkeit vor Ort im Wahllokal ausübt. Er ist sowohl für die Wahlhandlung (Stimmabgabe von 8 bis 18 Uhr) als auch für die Ermittlung des Wahlergebnisses zuständig.

In der Regel müssen Wahlhelfer:innen am Wahltag bereits vor Öffnung der Wahllokale im jeweiligen Wahllokal anwesend sein, um Vorbereitungen zu treffen. Während des Wahltages erfolgt die Anwesenheit in der Regel in Schichten. Nach Schließung der Wahllokale müssen die Wahlhelfer:innen anwesend sein, bis alle Stimmen ausgezählt sind.

Daneben gibt es Briefwahlvorstände, die ihre Tätigkeit an einem zentralen Ort ausüben. Sie kommen mittags zusammen und entscheiden zunächst über die Zulassung der Wahlbriefe. Nach Schließung der Wahllokale zählen sie die Stimmen aus, die per Briefwahl abgegeben wurden.
Wahl der Bremischen Bürgerschaft, der Beiräte in der Stadtgemeinde Bremen sowie der Stadt-verordnetenversammlung Bremerhaven

Bei diesen Wahlen werden in den Wahllokalen sog. Urnenwahlvorstände eingesetzt. Sie sind dort für die Betreuung der Wahlhandlung (Stimmabgabe) zuständig. Nach Schließung der Wahllokale um 18 Uhr obliegen ihnen noch Abschlussarbeiten, anschließend können Sie ihre Tätigkeit beenden, allerdings erst dann, wenn die Wahlunterlagen an die zuständigen Personen übergeben worden sind.

Die Stimmauszählung obliegt eigenständigen Auszählwahlvorständen. Sie kommen am Wahltag ab ca. 18 Uhr in den für die Auszählung bestimmten Räumlichkeiten zusammen (i.d.R. zentrales Auszählzentrum). Jeder Auszählwahlvorstand zählt noch am Wahlabend mindestens einen Wahlbezirk hinsichtlich der Bürgerschaftswahl aus. An den Folgetagen wird die Auszählung fortgesetzt (bis circa Freitag nach der Wahl).

Angesichts des komplexeren Fünf-Stimmen-Wahlsystem ist eine umfassendere Schulung der Wahlhelferinnen und -helfer erforderlich - insbesondere bei den Auszählwahlvorständen.

Falls die Tätigkeit als Wahlhelferin oder Wahlhelfer aus wichtigen Gründen abgelehnt werden soll, müssen Nachweise für diese Gründe vorliegen (z. B. ein ärztliches Attest).


















  • Bundeswahlgesetz (BWahlG), s. §§ 8 bis 11
  • Bundeswahlordnung (BWO), s. §§ 6 bis 11 
  • Europawahlgesetz (EuWG), s. § 5 
  • Europawahlordnung (EuWO), s. §§ 6 bis 11 
  • Bremisches Wahlgesetz (BremWahlG)
  • Bremische Landeswahlordnung (BremLWO), s. §§ 6 bis 10 
  • Bremische Verfassung 
  • Ortsgesetz über Beiräte und Ortsämter-[Ortsbeirätegesetz]

Die Meldung als Wahlhelfer:in kann beim Wahlamt auf freiwilliger Basis erfolgen. Dabei kann auch ein Wunschwahlbezirk oder  ein gemeinsamer Einsatzwunsch mit Freunden oder Familie angegeben werden. Auch die bevorzugte Position im Wahlvorstand kann gerne mit angegeben werden. Das Wahlamt wird dann versuchen, dies zu berücksichtigen.

Für das Engagement als Wahlhelfer:in wird eine Aufwandsentschädigung von bis zu 70€ gezahlt.

Verantwortlich für den Inhalt
Keine Angabe

Letzte Aktualisierung bzw. Veröffentlichungsdatum
Keine Angabe