Health and safety obligations in relation to different types of activity

Information about Rights & Duties of #Radioactivity

Information about Rights & Duties

Health and safety obligations in relation to different types of activity

Occupational health and safety

The legislation on working conditions serves to ensure the health and safety of employees at work by preventing occupational accidents and work-related health risks. It also includes measures to ensure humane working conditions. This legislation covers all areas of activity, i.e. both private and public service employment.

Working Conditions Act and Working Conditions Decrees

An important cornerstone of the German legislation on working conditions is the Working Conditions Act [ Arbeitsschutzgesetz ]. The Working Conditions Act not only governs occupational health and safety obligations on the part of employers, but also the rights and obligations of employees when it comes to health and safety at work. The Working Conditions Act is supplemented by a number of Working Conditions Decrees that set out specific rules for certain risks in the workplace. In addition, accident insurers have a prevention mandate that gives them the power to implement and supplement the working conditions legislation adopted at national level by imposing accident prevention regulations . (Link to Q1)

Personal safety

Employees must do everything in their power to ensure health and safety in the workplace and must observe the training and instructions provided by their employer, for example by using the prescribed personal protective equipment (PPE). They must also ensure the health and safety of other individuals in the workplace who may be affected by their actions, such as their colleagues.

Equipment

Employees must use all equipment, such as tools, means of transport or any PPE provided, in accordance with their intended use, i.e. in line with the instructions provided by their employer.

Providing support to employers

Employees must help their employer ensure health and safety in the workplace. They must inform their employer or superior if they have legitimate grounds to suspect there is an immediate and significant risk to health and safety. This also applies in the case of faulty protective devices, e.g. failure or malfunction of protective devices on machines. Employees should also report the risks they have identified to the occupational safety officers appointed in accordance with the German Occupational Safety Act [ Arbeitssicherheitsgesetz ] and in-house doctors, or to the safety officers appointed in accordance with the German Social Code, Part VII [ Sozialgesetzbuch VII ].

Special risks and emergency measures

In the case of an immediate and significant risk, employees are entitled to leave the workplace without delay in order to get to safety, e.g. in the case of fires or explosions (right of departure). They must be able to do so without this negatively affecting their employment situation, for example their employer may not use this as grounds to dismiss them.

Preventative occupational medicine

Employees are entitled to request an individual occupational health consultation and examination. In the case of certain risks in the workplace, employers must actively offer employees preventative occupational healthcare, e.g. for employees working with screens. If the risks are particularly high, it is obligatory for precautions to be taken, e.g. for employees working with biological substances (see the German Decree on Preventative Occupational Medicine [ Verordnung zur arbeitsmedizinischen Vorsorge ]). Information, consultations and, where necessary, examinations are provided in a private space in which only the employee and in-house doctor are present. Employers will be informed of any deficiencies in their occupational safety measures, but will not be informed, for example, about any diagnoses. Employers may not charge employees for the cost of preventative occupational healthcare.

Right to make proposals

Employees are entitled to make proposals regarding all issues in connection with occupational health and safety.

Right to file a complaint

Employees have the right to contact the competent occupational health and safety authority if they have tangible evidence that the measures taken and the equipment provided by their employer are not sufficient to ensure health and safety in the workplace. Employees must first file a complaint with their employer in order to allow them an opportunity to remedy the problem themselves before involving external bodies. During this prior in-house complaints procedure, the employer must determine whether the measures they have taken and the equipment they have provided meet the requirements or not. There is no need for a prior complaint to be filed if there are legitimate grounds to suspect that it is unlikely that the situation will be remedied internally. Employees who file a complaint must be able to do so without this negatively affecting their employment situation; in particular, they may not be dismissed by their employer as a result of filing a complaint.

Working Hours Act

The German Working Hours Act [ Arbeitszeitgesetz ] protects the health of employees by limiting the maximum number of working hours per day as well as by stipulating minimum break periods during work and minimum rest periods after work. This law also includes conditions for agreeing flexitime arrangements. Night workers are subject to special protection. There is a general ban on working on Sundays and public holidays. Employees may only work on these days in exceptional cases.

Act on the Protection of Young People at Work

The German Act on the Protection of Young People at Work [ Jugendarbeitsschutzgesetz ] protects young people under the age of 18, regardless of whether they are employed as trainees or employees. The law generally prohibits the employment of children, i.e. young people under the age of 15, as well as of other individuals subject to mandatory full-time schooling. Protecting the health and safety of children and young people at work is even more important than it is for adults as they are less resilient and should therefore not be exposed to the same stresses. The Act on the Protection of Young People at Work and the Decree on the Protection of Children at Work [ Kinderarbeitsschutzverordnung ] therefore protect children and young people from doing jobs that start too early, involve overly long hours, are too difficult, put them at risk or are unsuitable.

Authorities

The Occupational Health and Safety Authorities in the individual federal states [ Länder ] are responsible for monitoring compliance with occupational health and safety legislation. Employees are entitled to file a complaint with these authorities if they believe that the health and safety measures in their place of work are insufficient. They can do so via the online portals of the federal states (e.g. https://www.mags.nrw/ansprechpartner-und-beratung-zum-arbeitsschutz-nrwOpens in new window ).

Responsible for the content
Federal Ministry of Labour and Social Affairs

Last update or date of publication
26.08.2020

Gesundheits- und Sicherheitsvorschriften im Zusammenhang mit verschiedenen Arten von Tätigkeiten

Informationen zu Rechten & Pflichten in #Radioaktivität

Informationen zu Rechten & Pflichten

Gesundheits- und Sicherheitsvorschriften im Zusammenhang mit verschiedenen Arten von Tätigkeiten

Arbeitsschutz

Das Arbeitsschutzrecht dient dazu, Sicherheit und Gesundheit der Beschäftigten bei der Arbeit durch Verhütung von Arbeitsunfällen und arbeitsbedingten Gesundheitsgefahren zu gewährleisten und umfasst auch Maßnahmen zur menschengerechten Gestaltung der Arbeit. Dieser Schutz umfasst alle Tätigkeitsbereiche, d. h. alle Beschäftigungen in der Privatwirtschaft und im öffentlichen Dienst.

Arbeitsschutzgesetz und Arbeitsschutzverordnungen

Wichtige Grundlage des Arbeitsschutzrechts ist das Arbeitsschutzgesetz. Das Arbeitsschutzgesetz regelt nicht nur die arbeitsschutzrechtlichen Pflichten der Arbeitgeber, sondern auch die Pflichten und Rechte der Beschäftigten im Arbeitsschutz. Das Arbeitsschutzgesetz wird in Bezug auf bestimmte Gefährdungen am Arbeitsplatz durch eine Reihe von Arbeitsschutzverordnungen konkretisiert. Hinzu kommt, dass die Unfallversicherungsträger auf Grund ihres Präventionsauftrags insbesondere die Befugnis haben, das staatliche Arbeitsschutzrecht durch Unfallverhütungsvorschriften in Bezug zu nehmen und zu ergänzen. (Link auf Q1)

Eigenschutz

Die Beschäftigten müssen nach ihren Möglichkeiten und entsprechend der Unterweisung und Weisung durch den Arbeitgeber für ihre Sicherheit und Gesundheit am Arbeitsplatz sorgen, z. B. durch Benutzung der vorgeschriebenen persönlichen Schutzausrüstungen. Sie müssen auch für die Sicherheit und Gesundheit derjenigen sorgen, die von ihrem Verhalten bei der Arbeit betroffen sind, z. B. Arbeitskollegen.

Arbeitsmittel

Die Beschäftigten sind verpflichtet, Arbeitsmittel, z. B. Werkzeuge, Transportmittel oder überlassene persönliche Schutzausrüstungen bestimmungsgemäß zu verwenden, d.  h. gemäß der Unterweisung durch den Arbeitgeber.

Unterstützung des Arbeitgebers

Die Beschäftigten müssen den Arbeitgeber bei der Gewährleistung von Sicherheit und Gesundheitsschutz am Arbeitsplatz unterstützen. Sie haben ihrem Arbeitgeber oder ihren Vorgesetzten jede unmittelbare erhebliche Gefahr für die Sicherheit und die Gesundheit anzuzeigen, die sie aufgrund konkreter Anhaltspunkte festgestellt haben. Das gilt auch für Defekte an Schutzeinrichtungen, z. B. Totalausfälle oder Fehlfunktionen an Schutzeinrichtungen von Maschinen. Die Beschäftigten sollen die von ihnen festgestellten Gefahren auch den nach dem Arbeitssicherheitsgesetz bestellten Fachkräften für Arbeitssicherheit und Betriebsärzten oder den nach dem SGB VII bestellten Sicherheitsbeauftragten melden.

Besondere Gefahren und Notfallmaßnahmen

Die Beschäftigten haben das Recht, sich bei erheblicher unmittelbarer Gefahr durch sofortiges Verlassen des Arbeitsplatzes in Sicherheit zu bringen, z. B. bei Bränden oder Explosionen (Entfernungsrecht). Dadurch dürfen ihnen im Arbeitsverhältnis keine Nachteile entstehen, z. B. darf der Arbeitgeber sie deswegen nicht kündigen.

Arbeitsmedizinische Vorsorge

Beschäftigte haben das Recht, sich auf ihren Wunsch hin individuell arbeitsmedizinisch beraten und untersuchen zu lassen. Der Arbeitgeber muss bei bestimmten Gefährdungen am Arbeitsplatz den Beschäftigten arbeitsmedizinische Vorsorge anbieten, z. B. bei Tätigkeiten an Bildschirmgeräten. Wenn die Gefährdungen besonders groß sind, ist eine Pflichtvorsorge vorgeschrieben, z. B. bei Tätigkeiten mit biologischen Arbeitsstoffen (siehe Verordnung zur arbeitsmedizinischen Vorsorge). Aufklärung, Beratung und ggf. Untersuchung erfolgen im geschützten Raum zwischen der oder dem Beschäftigten und der Betriebsärztin oder dem Betriebsarzt. Der Arbeitgeber wird über mangelhafte Arbeitsschutzmaßnahmen informiert, aber z.B. nicht über Diagnosen. Er darf die Kosten der arbeitsmedizinischen Vorsorge nicht den Beschäftigten auferlegen.

Vorschlagsrecht

Die Beschäftigten sind berechtigt zu allen arbeitsschutzrechtlich relevanten Fragen Vorschläge zu machen.

Beschwerderecht

Die Beschäftigten haben das Recht haben, sich an die zuständige Arbeitsschutzbehörde zu wenden, wenn im Betrieb konkrete Anhaltspunkte vorliegen, dass die vom Arbeitgeber getroffenen Maßnahmen und bereitgestellten Mittel nicht ausreichen, um Sicherheit und Gesundheitsschutz bei der Arbeit zu gewährleisten. Damit der Arbeitgeber Gelegenheit hat, vor der Anrufung externer Stellen selbst für Abhilfe zu sorgen, müssen sich die Beschäftigten zunächst beim Arbeitgeber beschweren. Im Rahmen des vorgeschalteten innerbetrieblichen Beschwerdeverfahrens muss der Arbeitgeber feststellen, ob die von ihm getroffenen Maßnahmen und bereitgestellten Mittel den Anforderungen genügen oder nicht. Einer vorherigen Beschwerde bedarf es nicht, wenn konkrete Tatsachen die Annahme rechtfertigen, dass eine interne Abhilfe nicht zu erwarten ist. Durch die Beschwerde dürfen den Beschäftigten keine Nachteile im Arbeitsverhältnis entstehen, insbesondere darf der Arbeitgeber sie deswegen nicht kündigen.

Arbeitszeitgesetz

Das Arbeitszeitgesetz stellt den Gesundheitsschutz der Beschäftigten sicher, indem es die tägliche Höchstarbeitszeit begrenzt sowie Mindestruhepausen während der Arbeit und Mindestruhezeiten nach Arbeitsende festlegt. Zugleich enthält das Gesetz Rahmenbedingungen für die Vereinbarung flexibler Arbeitszeiten. Nachtarbeitnehmerinnen und -arbeitnehmer sind besonders geschützt. Die Sonn- und Feiertagsruhe wird durch ein grundsätzliches Beschäftigungsverbot geschützt. Arbeiten an diesen Tagen sind nur ausnahmsweise zulässig.

Jugendarbeitsschutzgesetz

Das Jugendarbeitsschutzgesetz schützt junge Menschen unter 18 Jahren, gleich ob sie als Auszubildende oder als Arbeitnehmer beschäftigt werden. Grundsätzlich verboten ist nach dem Gesetz die Beschäftigung von Kindern, also jungen Menschen unter 15 Jahren, und ihnen gleichgestellten vollzeitschulpflichtigen Jugendlichen. Arbeitsschutz ist für Kinder und Jugendliche noch wichtiger als Arbeitsschutz für Erwachsene, da sie weniger widerstandsfähig sind und deshalb nicht den gleichen Belastungen ausgesetzt werden dürfen. Das Jugendarbeitsschutzgesetz und die Kinderarbeitsschutzverordnung schützen deshalb Kinder und Jugendliche vor Arbeit, die zu früh beginnt, die zu lange dauert, die zu schwer ist, die sie gefährdet oder für sie ungeeignet ist.

Behörden

Die Kontrolle der Einhaltung der arbeitsschutzrechtlichen Vorschriften obliegt den Arbeitsschutzbehörden der Bundesländer. Die Beschäftigten haben das Recht, sich dort bei unzureichenden Arbeitsschutzzuständen im Betrieb zu beschweren. Sie können diese Beschwerde auch über die Online-Portale der Bundesländer einreichen (z. B. https://www.mags.nrw/ansprechpartner-und-beratung-zum-arbeitsschutz-nrw).

Verantwortlich für den Inhalt
Bundesministerium für Arbeit und Soziales

Letzte Aktualisierung bzw. Veröffentlichungsdatum
26.08.2020