Rights and conditions for moving to a residential care home

Information about Rights & Duties of #Care provision

Information about Rights & Duties

Rights and conditions for moving to a residential care home

What kinds of residential care homes are there (for the elderly, people with disabilities etc.) and how do they work?

There are various different kinds of residential care homes, such as retirement homes and nursing homes. In the field of statutory nursing care insurance, operators of establishments run according to a range of organisational and nursing concepts can apply for a permit to provide residential treatment, care and support for care-dependent individuals under what is referred to as a _supply agreement_. This supply agreement is a type of contract between nursing care insurance companies and operators of care establishments that sets out the benefits in cash and in kind to which insured individuals are legally entitled. One important eligibility criterion is that the insured individuals must have long-term nursing care needs that mean they require professional support and care as well as constant monitoring by a qualified carer.

Legal provisions: Section 72 and Section 71, para. 2 of the German Social Code, Part XI [SGB XI] _ Eligibility for care

What criteria must a person meet in order to be eligible to enter a public/state-run care home?

Private care homes and care homes run by local governments or non-profit organisations are essentially open to all people. In order to receive financial support under their nursing care insurance, residents must be dependent on nursing care. Whether or not this is the case is determined by the Medical Service or other assessor contracted by the individual's nursing care insurance company as part of a structured procedure and in accordance with a set of assessment guidelines. Care-dependent individuals requiring a degree of care classified as between 2 and 5 according to the German system are eligible for a place in a fully residential care home. In such cases, nursing care insurers will make fixed insurance payouts directly to the care home.

Almost everyone in Germany has insurance through one of the two branches of compulsory insurance. Nursing care insurance is part and parcel of statutory healthcare insurance, meaning that anyone with statutory healthcare insurance is automatically covered by statutory nursing care insurance as well. People with private healthcare insurance who are insured against the risk of illness and hospitalisation must also take out insurance to cover the risk of them requiring nursing care.

As insurance providers, the nursing care insurance funds are subject to a statutory service guarantee in connection with their service obligation to ensure that the people they insure receive adequate care. They do not operate their own care establishments, but instead conclude supply contracts and compensation agreements with operators of residential care homes and outpatient care and support services, as well as with certain self-employed carers where appropriate.

Any establishment that meets the authorisation requirements has a legal right to obtain a permit to provide services. Those in need of care may choose from among different types of establishment: private establishments, establishments run by local government, and establishments run by not-for-profit organisations.

What kind of financial contribution is required for public/state-run care homes, and who is responsible for paying it?

Statutory nursing care insurance is intended to help mitigate the physical, psychological and financial consequences of care-dependency for insured persons and their relatives. However, nursing care insurance does not cover all of the costs incurred by policyholders in relation to their care; it only offers specific in-cash and in-kind benefits (principle of partial performance). If the total costs of an individual's care exceed the legal ceiling for nursing care insurance contributions, the difference in costs must be borne by the care-dependent individual. In addition, the cost of living (accommodation, food, capital costs/maintenance) must be borne by care-dependent individuals themselves. People in financial difficulty may receive welfare benefits to help pay the costs of their care (see in particular Section 28ff; care benefits in accordance with Sections 61 to 66 of the German Social Code, Part XII).

Are there rules on how much privately-run care homes can charge for their services?

The same authorisation and compensation rules prescribed by law apply to private care homes as to care homes run by local government or not-for-profit organisations. The contractual provisions set out in the relevant supply agreement are always binding on all contractual parties. These provisions specify that the nursing care compensation rates and care fees agreed between the funding agencies (i.e. the nursing care insurance funds and welfare agencies) and operators of establishments must be cost-efficient and performance-based; subsequent reimbursement of costs is not possible. There is no differentiation between the different types of establishment.

Any compensation amounts that exceed the nursing care insurance ceiling or, in residential care, the costs of accommodation and food (and capital costs where applicable) are charged to the person requiring care by the care establishment itself. Since January 2017, within a particular establishment the amount of residents' own care-related, establishment-specific contributions has been the same for all persons in full-time residential care and in need of a degree of care between levels 2 and 5.

Separate, supplementary compensation that is not chargeable to care-dependent individuals themselves may be claimed by residential care homes in the form of employment subsidies for the provision of care and leisure activities for care-dependent individuals. This compensation may not exceed 5% of existing staff costs. In addition, upon request these subsidies may be used to cover the recruitment of carers to new or existing roles. The amount of these subsidies depends on the size of the establishment.

Is financial support available to cover the costs of residential care?

As a result of the funding provided by the federal states for investment measures in care homes, those establishments do not have to raise their fees in order to cover the costs of investments. This means that even care-dependent individuals with a low income will be in a position to cover their own contributions out of their own income. In this way, the investment funding programmes contribute to preventing welfare dependency and reducing welfare costs.

Under certain conditions, welfare providers/the Welfare Office [ Sozialamt ] will bear the costs of care if an individual does not have sufficient financial resources and cannot rely on relatives to pay the costs of their care.

If an individual's nursing care insurance is not sufficient to cover their care needs and they cannot afford to pay their own contributions themselves, they may be eligible for nursing care welfare payments . These welfare payments are a form of subordinate welfare benefit that find their legal basis in the German Social Code, Part XII, Chapter 7. If the conditions for eligibility are met, i.e. if the person is care-dependent and in need of financial support, they will receive needs-based welfare payments.

Under the provisions on benefits in kind found in Section 43 of the German Social Code, Part XI, each month the nursing care insurance funds will cover the costs of care-related expenses including those in relation to personal support and medical treatment up to the following amounts:

Care level 2: €770

Care level 3: €1262

Care level 4: €1775

Care level 5: €2005 Individuals classed as falling under care level 1 will receive a monthly allowance of €125.

Care-dependent individuals are also entitled to additional support services and activities in the care establishment (Section 43b of the German Social Code, Part XI).

See Section 6 and Section 11 of the German Social Code, Part XI

Further information

Ratgeber Pflege (_Nursing Care Guidebook_, in German)

Ratgeber für Menschen mit Behinderung (_Guidebook for People with Disabilities_, in German)

Responsible for the content
Federal Ministry of Health

Last update or date of publication
14.09.2020

Rechte und Voraussetzungen für den Einzug in eine stationäre Pflegeeinrichtung

Informationen zu Rechten & Pflichten in #Pflege

Informationen zu Rechten & Pflichten

Rechte und Voraussetzungen für den Einzug in eine stationäre Pflegeeinrichtung

Stationären Pflegeheime (für ältere Menschen, Behinderte usw.) und wie sie geregelt sind?

Grundsätzlich gibt es unterschiedliche Heimtypen wie z.B. das Altenwohnheim oder das Seniorenpflegeheim. Im Bereich der sozialen Pflegeversicherung können Einrichtungsbetreiber für unterschiedliche Organisations- und Pflegekonzepte eine Zulassung erhalten, um im Rahmen eines sog. Versorgungsauftrages pflegebedürftige Menschen stationär zu versorgen, zu pflegen und zu betreuen. Dieser Versorgungsvertrag regelt vertraglich zwischen den Pflegekassen und den Einrichtungsbetreibern die Sach- und Dienstleistungen, auf die der Versicherte einen gesetzlichen Anspruch hat. Eine wesentliche Voraussetzung ist, dass die Betroffenen aufgrund ihrer Pflegebedürftigkeit professionelle Unterstützung und Betreuung unter ständiger Verantwortung einer qualifizierten Pflegekraft benötigen.

Regelung: §§ 72, 71 Absatz 2, SGB XI Zulassung zur Pflege

Bedingungen für den Zugang zu öffentlichen/staatlichen Pflegeheimen

Der Zugang zu privaten, kommunalen oder freigemeinnützigen Pflegeheimen steht grundsätzlich allen Menschen offen. Voraussetzung für die finanziellen Leistungen der Pflegekassen ist die Pflegebedürftigkeit. Diese wird gemäß der Begutachtungsrichtlinien in einem strukturierten Verfahren durch den Medizinischen Dienst oder durch andere von der Pflegekasse beauftragte Gutachter/innen festgestellt. Pflegebedürftige der Pflegegrade 2 bis 5 haben Anspruch auf Pflege in vollstationären Einrichtungen; die Pflegekassen zahlen dafür pauschale Leistungsbeträge an die Pflegeheime.

Nahezu die gesamte Bevölkerung ist in Deutschland über einen der beiden Pflichtversicherungszweige versichert. Es gilt der Grundsatz "Pflegeversicherung folgt Krankenversicherung". Jeder, der gesetzlich krankenversichert ist, ist automatisch in der sozialen Pflegeversicherung versichert. Personen, die in der privaten Krankenversicherung gegen das Risiko der Krankheit mit Anspruch auf allgemeine Krankenhausleistungen abgesichert sind, sind verpflichtet, zur Absicherung des Risikos der Pflegebedürftigkeit eine entsprechende Versicherung abzuschließen.

Den Pflegekassen obliegt als Versicherungsträger der gesetzliche Sicherstellungsauftrag im Rahmen ihrer Leistungsverpflichtung eine bedarfsgerechte Versorgung ihrer Versicherten zu gewährleisten. Sie haben keine eigenen Einrichtungen, sondern schließen zu diesem Zwecke Versorgungsverträge und Vergütungsvereinbarungen mit Trägern von stationären Einrichtungen und ambulanten Pflege- und Betreuungsdiensten und Verträge mit einzelnen geeigneten selbständigen Pflegekräften.

Jede Einrichtung, die die Zulassungsvoraussetzungen erfüllt, hat einen gesetzlichen Anspruch auf Zulassung zur Leistungserbringung. Damit gibt es ein Nebeneinander von Einrichtungen in kommunaler, freigemeinnütziger oder privater Trägerschaft, die den Pflegebedürftigen zur Wahl stehen.

Art von finanziellem Beitrag für öffentliche /staatliche Pflegeheime und wer ist für die Zahlung verantwortlich?

Die Leistungen der sozialen Pflegeversicherung sollen dazu beitragen, die aus der Pflegebedürftigkeit entstehenden physischen, psychischen und gleichzeitig auch die finanziellen Belastungen der Versicherten und ihrer Angehörigen zu mildern. Die Pflegeversicherung übernimmt jedoch nicht alle durch die Pflege bedingten Kosten ihrer Versicherten, sondern gewährt nur Geld- und sog. Sachleistungen (Teilleistungsprinzip). Sofern die gesamten pflegebedingten Aufwendungen des Einzelnen den gesetzlich gedeckelten Leistungsbetrag der Pflegeversicherung übersteigen, ist die Differenz als Eigenanteil vom Pflegebedürftigen zu tragen.. Daneben sind die Lebenshaltungskosten (Unterkunft, Verpflegung, Investitionskosten/Instandhaltung) vom Pflegebedürftigen selbst zu tragen. Im Falle finanzieller Hilfebedürftigkeit beteiligt sich die Sozialhilfe an den Kosten der Pflege (insbes. §§ 28ff; Hilfe zur Pflege gemäß §§ 61 _ 66 SGB XII).

Vorschriften über die Gebühren, die von privat geführten Pflegeheimen erhoben werden können

Für privat geführte Pflegeeinrichtungen gelten die gleichen Zulassungs- und vergütungsrechtlichen Vorgaben wie für kommunal oder freigemeinnützig getragene Einrichtungen. Die vertraglichen Festlegungen im Versorgungsvertrag sind immer für alle Vertragsparteien verbindlich. Es gilt, dass zwischen den Kostenträgern, also den Pflegekassen und den Sozialhilfeträgern, und den Einrichtungsträgern die (vereinbarten) Pflegevergütungen und Pflegesätze wirtschaftlich und leistungsgerecht sein müssen, eine nachträgliche Kostenerstattung ist nicht möglich. Es wird auch hierbei nicht zwischen verschiedenen Trägern unterschieden.

Vergütungsanteile, die die Leistungsbeträge der Pflegeversicherung übersteigen sowie _ im stationären Bereich _ die Entgelte für Unterkunft und Verpflegung (ggf. Investitionskosten), werden den Pflegebedürftigen von der Pflegeeinrichtung selbst in Rechnung gestellt. Die Höhe der pflegebedingten einrichtungsindividuellen Eigenanteile ist seit Januar 2017 für alle Pflegebedürftigen in vollstationärer Dauerpflege bei den Pflegegraden 2 bis 5 innerhalb einer Pflegeeinrichtung gleich.

Nicht vom Pflegebedürftigen zu tragende gesonderte Vergütungszuschläge können stationäre Pflegeeinrichtungen für die Beschäftigung zusätzlicher Beschäftigungshilfen für die Betreuung und Aktivierung der Pflegebedürftigen in Höhe von 5 Prozent der Personalaufwendungen und auf Antrag für die Neueinstellung oder Stellenaufstockung zusätzlicher Pflegefachkraftstellen gestaffelt nach Einrichtungsgröße erhalten.

Finanzielle Unterstützung für die Kosten der Heimpflege

Durch die Förderung notwendiger Investitionsmaßnahmen der Pflegeeinrichtungen durch die Länder, werden die Pflegesätze von den Investitionskosten entlastet. Dies führt dazu, dass auch Pflegebedürftige mit einem geringen Einkommen eher in der Lage sind, den Eigenanteil aus dem eigenen Einkommen zu bestreiten. Die Investitionskostenförderung trägt somit zur Vermeidung von Sozialhilfeabhängigkeit und zur Verminderung von Sozialhilfekosten bei.

Der Sozialhilfeträger/Sozialamt übernimmt unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen die Kosten für die Pflege, wenn nicht genügend eigene finanzielle Mittel vorhanden sind und auch die Angehörigen nicht zur Zahlung der Pflegekosten herangezogen werden können.

Sofern die Leistungen der Pflegeversicherung zur Deckung pflegerischer Bedarfe nicht ausreichen und die Eigenanteile nicht durch die Pflegebedürftigen selbst getragen werden können, kommen gegebenenfalls Leistungen der Hilfe zur Pflege in Betracht. Die Hilfe zur Pflege ist eine nachrangige Leistung der Sozialhilfe, deren Rechtsgrundlagen sich im Siebten Kapitel des Zwölften Buches Gesetzbuch (SGB XII) finden. Bei Vorliegen der Anspruchsvoraussetzungen (Pflegebedürftigkeit sowie finanzielle Bedürftigkeit) wird die Hilfe zur Pflege bedarfsdeckend gewährt.

Im Rahmen der Sachleistung nach § 43 SGB XI übernehmen die Pflegekassen monatlich die Kosten für pflegebedingte Aufwendungen einschließlich der Aufwendungen für Betreuung und die Aufwendungen für Leistungen der medizinischen Behandlungspflege im

Pflegegrad 2: in Höhe von €770

Pflegegrad 3: in Höhe von €1.262

Pflegegrad 4: in Höhe von €1.775 und bei

Pflegegrad 5: in Höhe von €2.005. Pflegebedürftige im Pflegegrad 1 erhalten einen Zuschuss in Höhe von €125 monatlich.

Darüber hinaus haben die Pflegebedürftigen Anspruch auf zusätzliche Betreuung und Aktivierung in der Pflegeeinrichtung (§ 43b SGB XI).

siehe § 6 und § 11 SGB XI

Verantwortlich für den Inhalt
Bundesministerium für Gesundheit

Letzte Aktualisierung bzw. Veröffentlichungsdatum
14.09.2020