Travel documents

Information about Rights & Duties of #Travel

Information about Rights & Duties

Documents required from EU citizens, their family members who are not EU citizens, minors travelling alone and non-EU citizens when travelling across borders within the European Union (ID card, visa, passport)

Travel documents for minors

Although it is not prescribed by law, in addition to carrying their own valid travel document (passport, children's passport or ID card), minors travelling alone to or from Germany should also carry a l etter of agreementOpens in new window signed by one of the persons with parental responsibility for them (where possible in the language of their home country and destination country).

Before they depart, it is important to make photocopies of the identity documents being used for the journey by the minor travelling alone and which could potentially be lost. This will make it easier to obtain a replacement passport while abroad if they lose their passport/identity documents.

For minors travelling alone or accompanied by only one parent, it is advisable to have authorisation drawn up from the other person with parental responsibility for the minor but who is not accompanying them, which should include their contact details. This will help to avoid hold-ups during border checks (no need for long searches) and in case of emergencies, as it allows border guards to contact the non-accompanying person with parental responsibility for the minor if there are any doubts about the situation.

Border checks on minors are carried out in accordance with Regulation (EU) No 2016/399 (Schengen Borders Code)Opens in new window . According to Article 20(1)(f) of this Regulation in conjunction with Annex VII, border guards must pay particular attention to minors in order to prevent them from being unlawfully removed from the custody of the person(s) with parental responsibility for them or from leaving the territory against the wishes of the person(s) with parental responsibility for them.

In addition, it may be wise to carry authorisation from the other person with parental responsibility for the minor but who is not accompanying them as a precautionary measure in the event of certain emergencies, for example if the child falls ill while travelling. This can be provided as evidence to any doctor treating the minor that the person accompanying them has the capacity to decide whether the necessary treatment should be given.

The letter of agreement should indicate:

  • that the minor has been given consent to travel alone;
  • the contact details for the persons with parental responsibility for the minor;
  • the route being travelled; and
  • contact details for any adult escort officials where applicable.

Lost passport or ID card

In the event of loss of passports/identity documents abroad, citizens should obtain a police statement confirming the loss, and submit this to their embassy or consulate general along with their application for a replacement travel document. Authorities in Germany cannot be contacted for queries at weekends or on public holidays, so please remember that documents can only be issued on the next working day.

Any photocopies of the identity documents (which are now missing) that you have brought with you for the trip will facilitate issuing the replacement passport abroad, as well as the process of reapplying to your passport/identification authority in Germany.

Identity documents that have been reported lost or stolen should no longer be used as travel documents. Even if the document reported lost has been reported recovered in the meantime, this does not automatically lead to immediate deletion of the loss record in the Interpol database or this deletion appearing in national databases of states around the world. Border police therefore frequently confiscate recovered identity documents because the documents in question are still registered as missing in the system.

Expired passport or ID card

Citizens of countries that have signed the Schengen Agreement (Opens in new window Schengen countries )Opens in new window , such as Germany, may cross anywhere along the shared internal borders of EU Member States without having to go through border checks.

However, German nationals must still carry a valid passport or ID card (or official replacement passport) whenever they leave or enter Germany. In addition, German citizens may travel freely within the Schengen area using only their ID card as a travel document.

You must always carry a valid identity document whenever you cross a border. If you do not, you will be committing an administrative offence that is subject to a fine of a minimum of EUR 5 and, unless prescribed otherwise by law, a maximum of EUR 5 000.

When travelling outside the Schengen area, you will usually need a passport. Some countries require your passport to be valid for at least another 6 months.

If your passport or ID card has expired, the German Federal Police may, under certain conditions, issue a replacement passport for German citizens that can be used as a travel document. This is only possible if you cannot obtain a (temporary) travel document from a passport authority in time, there are no security concerns, and there are no reasons for you to be prohibited from travelling or obtaining a passport.

The German Federal Police can also issue an emergency travel document for EU citizens if their passport or the ID card issued by their home country has expired. EU citizens whose travel document is lost or stolen in Germany should first try and obtain replacement identity papers from the embassy of their home country; it is only in the event that this would cause an undue burden that the German Federal Police or local alien authorities may issue emergency travel documents upon request and upon presentation of a police report attesting to the loss. Replacement documents may usually only be issued to children and persons under the age of 18 with the consent of their legal representative. The person requesting replacement documents must be able to provide official documents proving their identity and nationality (for example an expired or replacement passport).

Germany will begin issuing EU emergency travel documents in accordance with Directive (EU) 2019/997Opens in new window once the European Commission has adopted the technical specifications, the body producing the documents has obtained the necessary forms, and the specialist IT procedures used by the authorities responsible for filling out the new forms have been adapted.

Germany has an agreement with certain EU Member States which means that German travel documents may in principle be recognised by those countries as proof of identity up to 1 year after expiry.

The countries are: Belgium, France, Greece, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Austria, Switzerland and Slovenia. However, this European agreement does not guarantee travel, nor does it make recognition of the expired documents mandatory, for example by transport companies. In order to avoid any problems when travelling with expired documents, it is advisable to only travel with valid documents.

Further information

Travel documents for minors

For information about specific rules in certain destination countries and about travel and safety information for German nationals, please click hereOpens in new window (in German).

You can also obtain information about the applicable rules in the destination country from the relevant country's missionOpens in new window (in German).

Lost passport or ID card

The German Federal Foreign Office website provides information on the application documents required and consular assistance available in the event of l oss of your passportOpens in new window (in German).

Expired passport or ID card

Further information is available from the BundespolizeiOpens in new window (German Federal Police).

Responsible for the content
Federal Ministry of the Interior, Building and Community

Last update or date of publication
27.07.2020

Reisedokumente

Informationen zu Rechten & Pflichten in #Reisen

Informationen zu Rechten & Pflichten

Dokumente, die von Unionsbürgern, ihren Familienmitgliedern, die keine Unionsbürger sind, allein reisenden Minderjährigen und Nicht-Unionsbürgern bei grenzüberschreitenden Reisen innerhalb der Union verlangt werden (Personalausweis, Visum, Pass)

Reisedokumente für Minderjährige

Neben ihrem eigenen gültigen Reisedokument (Reisepass, Kinderreisepass oder Personalausweis) sollten allein reisende Minderjährige, die nach Deutschland einreisen oder aus Deutschland ausreisen - obwohl nicht gesetzlich vorgeschrieben - eine von ihren Sorgeberechtigten unterschriebene EinverständniserklärungÖffnet in neuem Fenster (möglichst in den Sprachen des Heimatlandes und des Ziellandes) mit sich führen.

Damit bei Verlust von Pässen/Ausweispapieren die Ausstellung des Passersatzes im Ausland erleichtert wird, sollte vor Antritt der Reise darauf geachtet werden, dass Fotokopien der für die Reise genutzten (und später abhanden gekommenen) Ausweispapiere von der allein reisenden minderjährigen Person mitgeführt werden.

Bei Minderjährigen, die alleine reisen oder nur von einem Elternteil begleitet werden, bietet es sich zur Vermeidung von Verzögerungen bei Grenzkontrollen (langwierige Recherchen) und Bewältigung von Ausnahmesituationen an, von nicht begleitenden Sorgeberechtigten eine Vollmacht mit den Kontaktdaten der/des Sorgeberechtigten ausstellen zu lassen. Hierdurch werden die Kontrollbeamten in die Lage versetzt, bei Zweifeln mit dem nicht begleitenden Sorgeberechtigten Verbindung aufzunehmen.

Die Durchführung von Grenzkontrollen gegenüber Minderjährigen richtet sich dabei nach der Verordnung (EU) Nr. 2016/399 (Öffnet in neuem Fenster Schengener Grenzkodex). Nach dessen Art. 20 Abs. 1 lit. f)  in Verbindung mit Anhang VII wird Minderjährigen dabei besondere Aufmerksamkeit gewidmet. Hierdurch soll verhindert werden, dass diese unrechtmäßig sorgeberechtigten Personen entzogen werden bzw. gegen den Willen des/der Sorgeberechtigten das Hoheitsgebiet verlassen.

Daneben kann es auch für bestimmte Ausnahmesituationen z. B. bei einem Krankheitsfall während der Reise vorsorglich sinnvoll sein, eine Vollmacht der/des nicht mitreisenden, ebenfalls Sorgeberechtigten mitzuführen, um beispielsweise gegenüber einem behandelnden Arzt eine Entscheidungsbefugnis für die Einleitung erforderlicher Heilbehandlungen für das mitreisende Kind belegen zu können.

Die EinverständniserklärungÖffnet in neuem Fenster sollte folgende Hinweise enthalten:

  • dass der/die Minderjährige allein reisen darf,
  • die Kontaktdaten der sorgeberechtigten Elternteile,
  • die Reiseroute sowie
  • eventuelle Kontaktdaten volljähriger Begleitpersonen.

Verlorener Reisepass oder Personalausweis

Bei Verlust von Pässen/Ausweispapieren im Ausland wenden sich betroffene Bürgerinnen und Bürger mit einem polizeilichen Nachweis für den Dokumentenverlust an ihre Botschaften und Generalkonsulate und beantragen einen Reiseausweis als Passersatz. Da an Wochenenden und Feiertagen Behörden in Deutschland für die erforderlichen Rückfragen nicht erreichbar sind, müssen Sie damit rechnen, dass eine Ausstellung erst am nächsten Werktag möglich ist.

Mitgeführte Fotokopien der für die Reise genutzten (und später abhanden gekommenen) Ausweispapiere erleichtern die Ausstellung des Passersatzes im Ausland sowie die Neubeantragung bei Ihrer Pass?/Ausweisbehörde in Deutschland.

Ausweisdokumente, die einmal als verloren oder gestohlen gemeldet waren, sollten nicht mehr als Reisedokumente verwendet werden. Selbst wenn das als "verloren gegangen" gemeldete Dokument inzwischen als "wieder aufgefunden" gemeldet wurde, führt dies nicht automatisch zu einer sofortigen Löschung des Verlusteintrags in der Interpol-Datenbank und einer entsprechenden Übernahme dieser Löschung in die nationalen Datenbanken de r Staaten weltweit. Es kommt daher immer wieder vor, dass die Grenzpolizeien wiederaufgefundene Ausweisdokumente aufgrund des bestehen gebliebenen Fahndungseintrags einziehen.

Abgelaufener Reisepass oder Personalausweis

Bürgerinnen und Bürger aus den Staaten, die das Schengener AbkommenÖffnet in neuem Fenster unterzeichnet haben ( Schengener StaatenÖffnet in neuem Fenster ), wie z.B. Deutschland, können die gemeinsamen Binnengrenzen der EU-Mitgliedstaaten an jeder Stelle ohne Personenkontrolle überschreiten.

Die Pflicht für deutsche Staatsangehörige, bei jeder Ausreise aus Deutschland oder der Einreise nach Deutschland einen gültigen Pass oder gültigen Personalausweis (oder amtlichen Passersatz) mitzuführen, besteht jedoch weiterhin. Innerhalb des Schengenraums können deutsche Bürgerinnen und Bürger auch ausschließlich mit ihrem gültigen Personalausweis frei reisen und diesen als Reisedokument verwenden.

In jedem Fall ist bei Grenzübertritt ein gültiges Identitätsdokument mit sich zu führen. Wer kein gültiges Reisedokument bei sich führt, begeht eine Ordnungswidrigkeit. Die Geldbuße beträgt mindestens fünf Euro und, wenn das Gesetz nichts anderes bestimmt, höchstens eintausend Euro.

Bei Reisen außerhalb des Schengenraums ist meist ein Reisepass notwendig, in manchen Ländern wird darauf bestanden, dass der Reisepass noch mindestens sechs Monate gültig ist.

Bei einem abgelaufenen Reisepass oder Personalausweis kann die Bundespolizei einen Reiseausweis als Passersatz für deutsche Staatsangehörige ausstellen. Dies gilt nur, wenn die Erteilung eines (vorläufigen) Reisedokumentes bei einer Passbehörde nicht mehr rechtzeitig zu erwarten ist.

Für Bürgerinnen und Bürger der EU kann die Bundespolizei einen Notreiseausweis ausstellen, wenn der Pass abgelaufen ist. Bürgerinnen und Bürgern der EU, denen in Deutschland ihr Reisedokument durch Verlust/Diebstahl abhandengekommen ist, sollen vorrangig Ersatz-identitätspapiere über die Botschaft des Heimatstaates beschaffen. Erst wenn dies im Einzelfall eine unbillige Härte bedeuten würde, dürfen Bundespolizei oder örtliche Ausländerbehörden auf Antrag und unter Vorlage der polizeilichen Verlustanzeige Notreiseausweise ausstellen. Die Ausstellung von Ersatzpapieren an Kinder sowie Personen unter 18 Jahren ist grundsätzlich von der Zustimmung der gesetzlichen Vertreter abhängig. Die Identität und die Staatsangehörigkeit sind durch Vorlage amtlicher Dokumente nachzuweisen (zum Beispiel durch einen abgelaufenen Pass oder Passersatz).

Deutschland wird den EU Rückkehrausweis auf Basis der Richtlinie (EU) 2019/997Öffnet in neuem Fenster ausgeben, nachdem die EU KOM die technischen Spezifikationen festgelegt hat, der Hersteller entsprechende Vordrucke bereit stellt und die IT-Fachverfahren in den Behörden für die Personalisierung der neuen Vordrucke angepasst sind.

Deutschland hat mit einigen Mitgliedstaaten der Europäischen Union vereinbart, dass deutsche Reisedokumente bis zu einem Jahr nach Ablauf der Gültigkeit grundsätzlich als Identitätsnachweis anerkannt werden sollten.

Zu diesen Ländern zählen: Belgien, Frankreich, Griechenland, Italien, Lichtenstein, Luxemburg, Malta, die Niederlande, Österreich, Portugal, Schweiz, Slowenien, Spanien, Ungarn und Zypern. Eine Reisegarantie oder eine verpflichtende Anerkennung abgelaufener Dokumente beispielsweise durch Beförderungsunternehmen ist mit diesem europäischen Abkommen jedoch nicht verbunden. Um etwaige Schwierigkeiten bei der Reise mit abgelaufenen Dokumenten zu vermeiden, wird empfohlen, nur mit gültigen Dokumenten zu reisen.

Weiterführende Informationen

Reisedokumente für Minderjährige

Informationen über die Besonderheiten einzelner Zielländer sowie Reise- und Sicherheitshinweise für deutsche Staatsangehörige erhalten Sie hier.Öffnet in neuem Fenster

Weiterhin können Sie Informationen zu den jeweiligen Bestimmungen im Zielland bei den zuständigen AuslandsvertretungenÖffnet in neuem Fenster einholen.

Verlorener Reisepass oder Personalausweis

Auf der Internetpräsenz des deutschen Auswärtigen Amts finden Sie Informationen über die erforderlichen Antragsunterlagen und konsularische Hilfe bei Verlust Ihres PassesÖffnet in neuem Fenster .

Abgelaufener Reisepass oder Personalausweis

Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie bei der Bundespolizei.Öffnet in neuem Fenster

Verantwortlich für den Inhalt
Bundesministerium des Innern, für Bau und Heimat

Letzte Aktualisierung bzw. Veröffentlichungsdatum
27.07.2020