Taxation in another Member State

Information about Rights & Duties of #Other taxes

Information about Rights & Duties

Taxation in another Member State

Income tax abroad

I am an employee

What income is taxable in Germany?

  • Have you been living in Germany for more than six months? A continuous stay of more than six months in duration is grounds for ordinarily resident status in Germany. Ordinary residence or residence in Germany mean that you are liable for taxes in Germany without limitations and that you must pay tax in Germany on your income anywhere in the world.
  • Have you been living in Germany for no more than six months? If you are neither resident nor ordinarily resident in Germany, you only pay taxes in Germany on income you earn there (limited tax liability).
  • Do you have income from other EU countries? Make sure that you are not paying taxes twice on the same income.

How much must you pay?

What is left over from your gross income in Germany after tax deductions?

The taxable income is determined from the total income from all forms of income, taking into consideration various tax allowances and deductions. The standard income tax payable on this income is determined according to the following threshold values:

Range

Taxable income

Marginal tax rate in 2020

1

up to EUR 9 408

0%

2

EUR 9 409 EUR 57 051

14% rising to 42%

3

EUR 57 052 EUR 270 500

42%

4

EUR 270 501 and above

45%

Apart from this, a solidarity surcharge in the amount of 5.5% of your income tax is generally payable.

If you are also a member of a religious community that raises church tax, you pay church tax . Church tax is also calculated based on the income tax and is 8% (in Bavaria and Baden-Württemberg) and 9% (in other Federal States).

When calculating salaries tax, certain deductions are taken into consideration.

When and how do you pay?

Your employer withholds the salaries tax payable from your pay and sends this amount to the inspector of taxes. You can determine your provisional annual salaries tax liability using the Interactive Wages and Income Tax CalculatorOpens in new window of the German Federal Ministry of Finance.

Apart from the taxes payable, employer contributions for statutory social security (pension, care, unemployment and health insurance) are also withheld directly from salary payments.

Is your salary your only source of income? In this case, you generally do not need to submit a tax declaration. However, there are exceptions, such as when you have earned a wage from more than one employer simultaneously.

Would you like to submit a tax declaration to be able to benefit from certain tax allowances? If you wish to do so, send your declaration to the inspector of taxes responsible for you before the end of July of the following year.

Your inspector of taxes will inform you of your rights and obligations. You can get more detailed advice from tax consultants or lawyers, which can also provide you with legal representation in dealings with official agencies and courts.

Objections/complaints

You can file an objection to your tax notice with the inspector of taxes within one month of receipt of notice, and if required, you can file a complaint with the Finance Court against a decision made regarding your objection.

I am independent

What income is taxable in Germany?

  • Have you been living in Germany for more than six months? A continuous stay of more than six months in duration is grounds for ordinarily resident status in Germany. Ordinary residence or residence in Germany mean that you are liable for taxes in Germany without limitations and that you must pay tax in Germany on your income anywhere in the world.
  • Have you been living in Germany for no more than six months? If you are neither resident nor ordinarily resident in Germany, you only pay taxes in Germany on income you earn there (limited tax liability).
  • Do you have income from other EU countries? Make sure that you are not paying taxes twice on the same income.

How much must you pay?

What is left over from your income in Germany after tax deductions?

The taxable income is determined from the total income from all forms of income, taking into consideration various tax allowances and deductions. The standard income tax payable on this income is determined according to the following threshold values:

Range

Taxable income

Marginal tax rate in 2020

1

up to EUR 9 408

0%

2

EUR 9 409 EUR 57 051

14% rising to 42%

3

EUR 57 052 EUR 270 500

42%

4

EUR 270 501 and above

45%

You can determine your provisional annual income tax liability using the Interactive Wages and Income Tax CalculatorOpens in new window of the German Federal Ministry of Finance.

Apart from this, a solidarity surcharge in the amount of 5.5% of your income tax is generally payable.

If you are also a member of a religious community that raises church tax, you pay church tax . Church tax is calculated based on the income tax and is 8% (in Bavaria and Baden-Württemberg) and 9% (in other Federal States).

When and how do you pay?

You may have to make prepayments on your taxes (based on your incomes from the previous year) to balance your anticipated final tax liability, if such prepayments are required by the inspector of taxes.

Have you founded a new business ?

Anyone founding an agricultural, forestry or trading business, or opening business premises must register in the civil parish in which the business or business premises are opened. The civil parish will forward the information to the competent inspector of taxes. Anyone starting freelance work must report this to the competent inspector of taxes immediately.

Apart from notice of commencement of activity described above, the inspector of taxes requires further information about the legal and actual relationships that are of substance for taxation. This information will be requested in the tax recording questionnaire that you must send unsolicited to your inspector of taxes within one month of commencement of the activity.

Based on the information you provide in the questionnaire, the inspector of taxes will determine the level of prepayments you must make against the taxes payable.

For as long as your enterprise exists, you must submit your tax declarations to your competent inspector of taxes by the end of July in the subsequent year.

Your inspector of taxes will inform you of your rights and obligations. You can get more detailed advice from tax consultants or lawyers, which can also provide you with legal representation in dealings with official agencies and courts.

Objections/complaints

You can file an objection to your tax notice with the inspector of taxes within one month of receipt of notice, and if required, you can file a complaint with the Finance Court against a decision made regarding your objection.

Further information

Responsible for the content
Federal Ministry of Finance

Last update or date of publication
18.11.2020

Besteuerung in einem anderen Mitgliedstaat

Informationen zu Rechten & Pflichten in #Sonstige Steuern

Informationen zu Rechten & Pflichten

Besteuerung in einem anderen Mitgliedstaat

Einkommensteuer im Ausland

Ich bin Arbeitnehmer

Welches Einkommen ist in Deutschland zu versteuern?

  • Sie leben mehr als sechs Monate in Deutschland? Ein zeitlich zusammenhängender Aufenthalt von mehr als sechs Monaten Dauer begründet einen gewöhnlichen Aufenthalt in Deutschland. Ein gewöhnlicher Aufenthalt oder ein Wohnsitz in Deutschland führen dazu, dass Sie in Deutschland unbeschränkt steuerpflichtig sind und Ihr weltweites Einkommen dort versteuern müssen.
  • Sie haben höchstens sechs Monate in Deutschland gelebt? Wenn Sie in Deutschland weder einen Wohnsitz noch einen gewöhnlichen Aufenthalt haben, zahlen Sie in Deutschland nur Steuern auf die dort erzielten Einkünfte (beschränkte Steuerpflicht).
  • Sie beziehen Einkommen aus anderen EU-Ländern? Vergewissern Sie sich, dass Sie auf dasselbe Einkommen nicht zweimal Steuern zahlen.

Wie viel müssen Sie zahlen?

Was bleibt von Ihrem Bruttoeinkommen in Deutschland nach dem Steuerabzug übrig?

Aus der Summe der Einkünfte aus den Einkunftsarten wird unter Berücksichtigung verschiedener Frei- und Abzugsbeträge das zu versteuernde Einkommen ermittelt. Die darauf zu zahlende tarifliche Einkommensteuer wird nach folgenden Eckwerten festgesetzt:

Spanne

Zu versteuerndes Einkommen

Grenzsteuersatz in 2020

1

bis 9 408 €

0%

2

9 409 € 57 051 €

14% ansteigend bis 42%

3

57 052 € 270 500 €

42%

4

ab 270 501 €

45%

Außerdem wird grundsätzlich ein Solidaritätszuschlag in Höhe von 5,5% Ihrer Einkommensteuer erhoben.

Wenn Sie zudem ein Mitglied in einer Kirchensteuer erhebenden Religionsgemeinschaft sind, zahlen Sie Kirchensteuer . Die Kirchensteuer bemisst sich ebenfalls nach der Einkommensteuer und beträgt 8% (in Bayern und Baden-Württemberg) bzw. 9% (in anderen Bundesländern).

Bei der Berechnung der Lohnsteuer werden bestimmte Abzugsbeträge berücksichtigt.

Wann und wie zahlen Sie?

Ihr Arbeitgeber behält die zu zahlende Lohnsteuer von Ihrem Arbeitslohn ein und führt diese an das Finanzamt ab. Mit dem Interaktiven Lohn- und EinkommensteuerrechnerÖffnet in neuem Fenster des Bundesministeriums der Finanzen können Sie Ihre voraussichtliche Lohnsteuerbelastung ermitteln.

Neben den fälligen Steuern werden auch die fälligen Arbeitnehmerbeiträge zu den gesetzlichen Sozialversicherungen (Renten-, Pflege-, Arbeitslosen- und Krankenversicherung) vom Arbeitgeber direkt vom Lohn einbehalten.

Ist Ihr Gehalt Ihre einzige Einkommensquelle? In diesem Fall brauchen Sie in der Regel keine Steuererklärung abzugeben. Es gibt jedoch Ausnahmen, wenn Sie z.B. nebeneinander von mehreren Arbeitgebern Arbeitslohn bezogen haben.

Sie möchten eine Steuererklärung abgeben, um bestimmte Steuerfreibeträge nutzen zu können? Dann schicken Sie diese vor Ende Juli des Folgejahres an das für Sie zuständige Finanzamt.

Ihr Finanzamt informiert Sie über Ihre Rechte und Pflichten. Eingehendere Beratung können Sie von Steuerberatern oder Anwälten erhalten, die Ihnen auch vor Ämtern und Gerichten rechtlich beistehen.

Einsprüche/Klagen

Sie können gegen Ihren Steuerbescheid innerhalb eines Monats ab Bekanntgabe beim Finanzamt Einspruch einlegen und erforderlichenfalls gegen die Entscheidung über den Einspruch beim Finanzgericht Klage erheben.

Ich bin selbständig

Welches Einkommen ist in Deutschland zu versteuern?

  • Sie leben mehr als sechs Monate in Deutschland? Ein zeitlich zusammenhängender Aufenthalt von mehr als sechs Monaten Dauer begründet einen gewöhnlichen Aufenthalt in Deutschland. Ein gewöhnlicher Aufenthalt oder ein Wohnsitz in Deutschland führen dazu, dass Sie in Deutschland unbeschränkt steuerpflichtig sind und Ihr weltweites Einkommen dort versteuern müssen.
  • Sie haben höchstens sechs Monate in Deutschland gelebt? Wenn Sie in Deutschland weder einen Wohnsitz noch einen gewöhnlichen Aufenthalt haben, zahlen Sie in Deutschland nur Steuern auf die dort erzielten Einkünfte (beschränkte Steuerpflicht).
  • Sie beziehen Einkommen aus anderen EU-Ländern? Vergewissern Sie sich, dass Sie auf dasselbe Einkommen nicht zweimal Steuern zahlen.

Wie viel müssen Sie zahlen?

Was bleibt von Ihren Einkünften in Deutschland nach dem Steuerabzug übrig?

Aus der Summe der Einkünfte aus den Einkunftsarten wird unter Berücksichtigung verschiedener Frei- und Abzugsbeträge das zu versteuernde Einkommen ermittelt. Die darauf zu zahlende tarifliche Einkommensteuer wird nach folgenden Eckwerten festgesetzt:

Spanne

Zu versteuerndes Einkommen

Grenzsteuersatz in 2020

1

bis 9 408 €

0%

2

9 409 € 57 051 €

14% ansteigend bis 42%

3

57 052 € 270 500 €

42%

4

ab 270 501 €

45%

Mit dem Interaktiven Lohn- und EinkommensteuerrechnerÖffnet in neuem Fenster des Bundesministeriums der Finanzen können Sie Ihre voraussichtliche jährliche Einkommensteuerbelastung ermitteln.

Außerdem wird grundsätzlich ein Solidaritätszuschlag in Höhe von 5,5% Ihrer Einkommensteuer erhoben.

Wenn Sie zudem ein Mitglied in einer Kirchensteuer erhebenden Religionsgemeinschaft sind, zahlen Sie Kirchensteuer . Die Kirchensteuer bemisst sich nach der Einkommensteuer und beträgt 8% (in Bayern und Baden-Württemberg) bzw. 9% (in anderen Bundesländern).

Wann und wie zahlen Sie?

Sie müssen ggf. Steuervorauszahlungen (auf der Grundlage Ihrer Einkünfte vom Vorjahr) zum Ausgleich Ihrer erwarteten endgültigen Steuerschuld leisten, wenn diese vom Finanzamt festgesetzt wurden.

Sie haben ein neues Unternehmen gegründet?

Wer einen land- und forstwirtschaftlichen oder gewerblichen Betrieb oder eine Betriebsstätte eröffnet, hat dies bei der Gemeinde anzuzeigen, in der der Betrieb oder die Betriebsstätte eröffnet wird. Die Gemeinde leitet die Information an das zuständige Finanzamt weiter. Wer eine freiberufliche Tätigkeit aufnimmt, hat dies unmittelbar dem zuständigen Finanzamt mitzuteilen.

Neben den vorgenannten Anzeigen über die Aufnahme der Tätigkeit benötigt das Finanzamt weitere Auskünfte über die für die Besteuerung erheblichen rechtlichen und tatsächlichen Verhältnisse. Diese Auskünfte werden im Fragebogen zur steuerlichen Erfassung abgefragt, den Sie innerhalb eines Monats ab Aufnahme der Tätigkeit unaufgefordert Ihrem Finanzamt übermitteln müssen.

Auf Grundlage Ihrer Angaben im Fragebogen legt das Finanzamt die Höhe der Vorauszahlungen zu den zu zahlenden Steuern fest.

Solange Ihr Unternehmen besteht, müssen Sie bis jeweils Ende Juli des Folgejahres Steuererklärungen bei dem für Sie zuständigen Finanzamt abgeben.

Ihr Finanzamt informiert Sie über Ihre Rechte und Pflichten. Eingehendere Beratung können Sie von Steuerberatern oder Anwälten erhalten, die Ihnen auch vor Ämtern und Gerichten rechtlich beistehen.

Einsprüche/Klagen

Sie können gegen Ihren Steuerbescheid innerhalb eines Monats ab Bekanntgabe beim Finanzamt Einspruch einlegen und erforderlichenfalls gegen die Entscheidung über den Einspruch beim Finanzgericht Klage erheben.

Weiterführende Informationen

Verantwortlich für den Inhalt
Bundesministerium der Finanzen

Letzte Aktualisierung bzw. Veröffentlichungsdatum
18.11.2020