Access rights or obligations to participate in available public preventive healthcare measures

Information about Rights & Duties of #After the birth

Information about Rights & Duties

General information on access rights or obligations to participate in available public preventive healthcare measures

Mandatory vaccination programmes

The Masernschutzgesetz (Measles Protection Act) was introduced in Germany on 1 March 2020. The law requires that all children over the age of one must have received the measles vaccine recommended by the Standing Committee on Vaccination at the Robert Koch Institute (STIKO) before being admitted to pre-school, child daycare facilities or school.

Anyone born after 1970 must also prove they are protected against measles before being allowed to work in certain community institutions or medical facilities (e.g. childcare workers, teachers, childminders and medical workers). Asylum seekers and refugees must also be vaccinated within four weeks of being admitted to an accommodation centre.

Children aged over one must prove they have been vaccinated at least once against measles (or have immunity against measles). Anyone aged over two must provide proof they have complete protection against measles (i.e. two vaccinations).

  1. What are the implications if people refuse to comply with mandatory vaccination programmes (e.g. are vaccinations a prerequisite for admission to schools or childcare facilities)?

Anyone who fails to provide the necessary evidence, will be not be permitted to attend facilities or institutions covered by the Measles Protection Act, nor will they be permitted to work there. However, this provision does not apply to anyone for whom school attendance is compulsory.

Special provisions are also in place for people who were already attending or working at one of the facilities or institutions covered by the Measles Protection Act at the time it entered into force on 1 March 2020. They have until 31 July 2021 to provide the management of these organisations with the necessary evidence. Otherwise the health authorities will decide, on a case-by-case basis, whether individuals will no longer be permitted to attend or work at these organisations (with the exception of anyone for whom school attendance is compulsory).

Should the Paul-Ehrlich InstituteOpens in new window indicate on its website that there are bottlenecks in the supply chain for vaccines with a measles component, then the highest state health authorities or other bodies nominated by them may permit certain exemptions to the Measles Protection Act.

Failure to comply with the legislation will result in a fine from the competent authorities (Sections 36 and 37 of the German Administrative Offences Act (OWiG))Opens in new window ). The relevant rules and regulations are set out in Section 73(1a)(7a7d) of the German Protection against Infection ActOpens in new window . For instance, a fine of up to EUR 2500 can be issued in the following cases:

If the management of a facility or institution:

  1. employs or allows the attendance of someone who is not permitted under the legislation;
  2. fails to notify the health authorities of information required under the legislation.
  1. If an individual fails to provide the evidence required under the legislation within an appropriate time period, despite this information being requested by the health authorities.

The competent authorities must ensure that the amount of the fine is proportionate to the offence.

A fine may be reissued when a ruling or judgment becomes final (see Dresden Higher Regional Court NStZ-RR 97, 314) or if a new decision (by omission) comes into force.

In addition or as an alternative to an administrative fine (under the Administrative Offences Act), a penalty payment (under the Administrative Enforcement Act) may apply in the event of non-compliance with the legally enforceable obligation to provide evidence.

  1. What are the permitted exemptions from participating in mandatory vaccination programmes, e.g. immunodeficiency or religious grounds?

The legislation does not make any provision for an exemption on religious grounds. Based on experiences from other countries with mandatory vaccination programmes, the only permitted exemption is people who cannot be immunised due medical contraindications, for instance if they are allergic to one of the vaccine components. In this case, individuals must provide the facility or institution in question with a medical certificate confirming the existence of medical contraindications.

Children and young people health examinations

Children and young people are entitled to specific health examinations as a statutory health insurance benefit. This is set out in Section 26 Fünftes Buch Sozialgesetzbuch (Book V of the Social Code). There are currently ten health examinations available for children (the U examinations U1 to U9) and one examination for young people (J1 examination). In these, the doctor examines the general health condition and checks if certain serious conditions are present and if the child is developing according to their age. The programme is tailored precisely to the childs age group and includes, for example, check-ups for congenital metabolic disorders, for serious hearing disorders on both sides in newborns, examinations of the hip joints, as well as various examinations of individual organs and examinations of motor skills and social development. The costs for these check-ups are borne by the statutory health insurance provider, if they are taken up at the specified time. Participation is generally voluntary; however, some individual states have made these examinations mandatory.

Cancer screening

Women and men are entitled to screening examinations for the early detection of cancer as part of statutory health insurance. This is laid down in § 25(2) of Book Five of the German Social Code. The following screening tests to help prevent cancer are currently available for the early detection of:

  • breast cancer in women (annual palpation from the age of 30 and mammography screening every 2 years between the ages of 50 and 69),
  • cervical cancer in women (annual cytological smear test between the ages of 20 and 34, cytological smear plus a test for the human papillomavirus every 3 years from the age of 35),
  • prostate cancer in men (annual palpation from the age of 45),
  • colorectal cancer in men and women (regular immunological stool blood tests from the age of 50 or two screening colonoscopies at 10-yearly intervals from age 50 or age 55), and
  • skin cancer in men and women (examination of the skin surface with the naked eye every 2 years from the age of 35).

Mammography screening for the early detection of breast cancer and cervical cancer screening in women, as well as colorectal cancer screening in women and men are offered as structured screening programmes based on European guidelines. As a result, all women between the ages of 50 and 69 nationwide have been written to every 2 years since 2009 to remind them to go for a mammography screening and provide information about the programme. From July 2019, the statutory health insurance funds began a programme of contacting at 5-yearly intervals eligible insured individuals from the age of 50 with invitations and information on colorectal cancer screening. And in January 2020, they started doing the same for cervical cancer screening to eligible women from the age of 20.

Dental examination

  • From the 6th until the end of their 33rd month of life, minors are entitled to three dental check-ups (Section 26 Fünftes Buch Sozialgesetzbuch [Book Five of the German Social Code, SGB V]). The check-ups include inspection of the oral cavity, information from the dental staff about the origin of oral conditions, nutrition and mouth hygiene advice from the dental staff, and recommendations on fluoridation and on selecting suitable fluoridation agents. Children are also entitled to have fluoride varnish applied to harden the tooth enamel twice every calendar year.
  • From the 34th month of life until their sixth birthday, children are entitled to three dental check-ups (Section 26 of the SGB V). The check-ups include the inspection of the oral cavity, assessment of cavity risk, nutrition and oral hygiene advice for the parents, the recommendation of suitable fluoridation agents for enamel hardening and if need be the provision or prescription of fluoride tablets. For children with a high risk of cavities, the supplementary application of fluoride varnish for cavity prevention is indicated twice per calendar year.
  • Children and young people from six until their 18th birthday are entitled to individual prophylaxis every six months (Section 22 of the SGB V); this includes, for example, information on oral health with instructions on oral hygiene measures and fluoridation of teeth for enamel hardening. The content and scope of the prophylaxis services are decided upon by the dental practitioner according to the individual circumstances of the particular case.
  • Children under the age of the twelve are provided with group prophylaxis in kindergartens and schools; in schools and institutions for disabled people in which the cavity risk of schoolchildren is disproportionately high, the measures can be provided until the children turn 16 (Section 21 of the SGB V).

Regardless of their age, all insured parties are entitled to an in-depth dental examination every six months to identify dental, oral and maxillofacial issues, and once a year for scaling.

Further information

Mandatory vaccination programmes

Other useful information can be found hereOpens in new window

The relevant legislation (Section 20(814) of the German Protection against Infection Act) is available hereOpens in new window

Gesundheitsuntersuchung Kinder und Jugendliche

Kindergesundheit.infoOpens in new window

Broschure "Früherkennung und Vorsorge für Ihr Kind"Opens in new window (Kindergesundheit.info)

 Kassenärztliche BundesvereinigungOpens in new window

Information on cancer screening

Federal Joint Committee (Gemeinsamer Bundesausschuss): information on cancer screeningOpens in new window

Cancer information service at the DKFZ: cancer screening and early detectionOpens in new window

Institut für Qualität und Wirtschaftlichkeit im Gesundheitswesen (IQWiG) (Institute for Quality and Efficiency in Health Care): health information on early detectionOpens in new window

Gesundheitsinformation.deOpens in new window

Zahnärztliche Untersuchung

Gemeinsamer Bundesausschuss

RichtlinieOpens in new window des Gemeinsamen Bundesausschusses über die Früherkennungsuntersuchungen auf Zahn-, Mund- und Kieferkrankheiten

Responsible for the content
Federal Ministry of Health

Last update or date of publication
15.10.2020

Zugangsrechte oder Pflichten zur Teilnahme an verfügbaren öffentlichen Gesundheitsvorsorgemaßnahmen

Informationen zu Rechten & Pflichten in #Nach der Geburt

Informationen zu Rechten & Pflichten

Allgemeine Informationen über Zugangsrechte zu verfügbaren öffentlichen Präventionsmaßnahmen im Gesundheitsbereich und über die Pflichten zur Teilnahme an diesen Maßnahmen

Pflichtimpfprogramme

In Deutschland gilt seit 1. März 2020 das Masernschutzgesetz. Dieses sieht vor, dass alle Kinder ab dem vollendeten ersten Lebensjahr beim Eintritt in den Kindergarten, Kindertageseinrichtungen oder in die Schule die von der Ständigen Impfkommission empfohlenen Masern-Impfungen vorweisen müssen.

Nach 1970 geborene Personen, die in bestimmten Gemeinschaftseinrichtungen oder medizinischen Einrichtungen arbeiten (wie Erzieher, Lehrer, Tagespflegepersonen und medizinisches Personal), müssen ebenfalls einen Schutz gegen Masern aufweisen. Auch Asylbewerber und Geflüchtete müssen vier Wochen nach Aufnahme in eine Gemeinschaftsunterkunft einen entsprechenden Impfschutz haben. 

Kinder ab einem Jahr müssen mindestens eine Masern-Schutzimpfung (oder eine Immunität gegen Masern) nachweisen und können dann aufgenommen werden. Ab zwei Jahren muss der vollständige Masernschutz (zwei Schutzimpfungen) nachgewiesen werden.

Nichtteilnahme an Pflichtimpfprogrammen und die Folgen

Personen, die keinen ausreichenden Nachweis erbringen, dürfen weder in den betroffenen Einrichtungen betreut noch in diesen tätig werden. Das gilt jedoch nicht für Personen, die einer gesetzlichen Schulpflicht unterliegen.

Besondere Regelungen gelten für Personen, die bei Inkrafttreten des Gesetzes am 1. März 2020 bereits in den betroffenen Einrichtungen betreut wurden oder tätig waren. Diese haben der Leitung der Einrichtung einen Nachweis bis zum 31. Juli 2021 vorzulegen. Anderenfalls wird das Gesundheitsamt im Einzelfall entscheiden, ob Tätigkeits- oder Betretungsverbote ausgesprochen werden (außer bei schulpflichtigen Personen).

Sollte das Paul-Ehrlich-InstitutÖffnet in neuem Fenster einen Lieferengpass bei Impfstoffen mit einer Masernkomponente auf seiner Internetseite veröffentlichen, können Ausnahmen vom gesetzlichen Aufnahme- und Tätigkeitsverbot durch die obersten Landesgesundheitsbehörden oder die von ihr bestimmte Stelle zugelassen werden.

Bei Nichterfüllung der Pflichten können Geldbußen von den zuständigen Behörden (§§ 36, 37 Ordnungswidrigkeitengesetz, OWiGÖffnet in neuem Fenster ) verhängt werden. Die maßgeblichen Regelungen finden sich in § 73 Absatz 1a Nr. 7a bis 7d InfektionsschutzgesetzÖffnet in neuem Fenster . Eine Geldbuße bis zu 2.500 EUR kann zum Beispiel in folgenden Fällen verhängt werden:

1. Wenn die Leitung einer Einrichtung entgegen der gesetzlichen Verbote

a) eine Person betreut oder beschäftigt oder

b) im Falle einer Benachrichtigungspflicht die Gesundheitsämter nicht informiert sowie

2. wenn Personen trotz Nachweispflicht und Anforderung des Gesundheitsamtes keinen Nachweis innerhalb einer angemessenen Frist erbringen.

Die zuständigen Behörden müssen die Höhe der Geldbuße nach dem Verhältnismäßigkeitsprinzip bei unterschiedlichen Verstößen entsprechend unterschiedlich bestimmen.

Eine wiederholte Verhängung der Geldbuße kommt in Frage, wenn eine bestands- oder rechtskräftige Entscheidung (siehe OLG Dresden NStZ-RR 97, 314) vorliegt oder ein neu gefasster (Unterlassungs-)Entschluss anzunehmen ist.

Neben oder alternativ zu dem Bußgeld (Ordnungswidrigkeitenrecht) kann auch ein Zwangsgeld (Verwaltungsvollstreckungsrecht) in Betracht kommen, wenn der vollstreckbaren Pflicht, einen Nachweis vorzulegen, nicht nachgekommen wird.

Bedingungen für die Ausnahme von Pflichtimpfprogrammen

Eine Ausnahme oder Befreiungsmöglichkeit aus religiösen Gründen sieht das Gesetz nicht vor. Der Gesetzgeber hat nach den Erfahrungen aus anderen Ländern mit einer Impfpflicht bewusst nur eine Ausnahme für Personen vorgesehen, die auf Grund einer medizinischen Kontraindikation nicht geimpft werden können. Eine medizinische Kontraindikation kann z.B. bei einer Allergie gegen Bestandteile des Impfstoffes gegeben sein. Es ist dann ein ärztliches Zeugnis über die medizinische Kontraindikation bei der Einrichtung vorzulegen.

Gesundheitsuntersuchung Kinder und Jugendliche

Kinder und Jugendliche haben Anspruch auf spezielle Gesundheitsuntersuchungen als Leistung der Gesetzlichen Krankenversicherung. Dies ist festgelegt in § 26 Fünftes Buch Sozialgesetzbuch. Aktuell stehen zehn Gesundheitsuntersuchungen für Kinder (die sogenannten U-Untersuchungen U1 bis U9) und eine Untersuchung für Jugendliche (J1-Untersuchung) zur Verfügung. Dabei untersucht die Ärztin oder der Arzt den allgemeinen Gesundheitszustand und ob bestimmte schwerwiegende Erkrankungen vorliegen und sich das Kind seinem Alter entsprechend entwickelt. Das Programm ist auf die Altersstufe des Kindes genau angepasst und umfasst z.B. Früherkennungsuntersuchungen auf angeborene Stoffwechselerkrankungen, auf schwerwiegende beidseitige Hörerkrankungen bei Neugeborenen, Untersuchungen der Hüftgelenke wie auch eine Vielzahl an Untersuchungen einzelner Organe und Untersuchungen der Motorik und der sozialen Entwicklung. Die Kosten für diese Früherkennungsuntersuchungen werden von der gesetzlichen Krankenkasse übernommen, wenn sie zu den festgelegten Zeitpunkten wahrgenommen werden. Im Allgemeinen ist die Teilnahme freiwillig, jedoch haben einzelne Bundesländer eine Verpflichtung zur Teilnahme an diesen Untersuchungen festgelegt.

Krebsfrüherkennung

Frauen und Männer haben Anspruch auf Untersuchungen zur Früherkennung von Krebskrankheiten als Leistung der gesetzlichen Krankenversicherung. Dies ist festgelegt in § 25 Absatz 2 Fünftes Buch Sozialgesetzbuch. Derzeit stehen folgende Krebsfrüherkennungsuntersuchungen zur Verfügung: zur Früherkennung von

  • Brustkrebs bei Frauen (jährliche Tastuntersuchung ab 30 Jahren und zweijährliches Mammographie-Screening von 50 bis 69 Jahren),
  • Gebärmutterhalskrebs bei Frauen (jährlicher zytologischer Abstrich von 20 bis 34 Jahren, dreijährlicher zytologischer Abstrich in Kombination mit einem Test auf Humane Papillomviren ab 35 Jahren),
  • Prostatakrebs bei Männern (jährliche Tastuntersuchung ab 45 Jahren),
  • Darmkrebs bei Männern und Frauen (ab 50 Jahren regelmäßiger immunologischer Stuhlbluttest oder ab 50 bzw. 55 Jahren zweimalige Früherkennungs-Darmspiegelung im Abstand von 10 Jahren) und
  • Hautkrebs bei Frauen und Männern (zweijährliche Untersuchung der Hautoberfläche mit dem bloßen Auge ab 35 Jahren).

Das Mammographie-Screening zur Früherkennung von Brustkrebs und die Früherkennung von Gebärmutterhalskrebs bei Frauen sowie die Früherkennung von Darmkrebs bei Frauen und Männern werden als sogenannte organisierte Screening-Programme nach dem Vorbild Europäischer Leitlinien angeboten. Daher werden seit 2009 bundesweit alle Frauen im Alter von 50 bis 69 Jahren alle zwei Jahre schriftlich zum Mammographie-Screening eingeladen und über das Programm informiert. Seit Juli 2019 versenden die gesetzlichen Krankenkassen alle fünf Jahre Einladungen und Informationen zur Darmkrebsfrüherkennung an ihre anspruchsberechtigten Versicherten ab 50 Jahren. Seit Januar 2020 versenden die gesetzlichen Krankenkassen nun auch alle fünf Jahre Einladungen und Informationen zur Gebärmutterhalskrebsfrüherkennung an die anspruchsberechtigten Frauen ab 20 Jahren.

Zahnärztliche Untersuchung

  • Kleinkinder haben vom 6. bis zum vollendeten 33. Lebensmonat Anspruch auf drei zahnärztliche Früherkennungsuntersuchungen (§ 26 Fünftes Buch Sozialgesetzbuch - SGB V). Die Untersuchungen umfassen die Inspektion der Mundhöhle, die Aufklärung der Betreuungspersonen über die Entstehung oraler Erkrankungen, die Ernährungs- und Mundhygieneberatung der Betreuungspersonen sowie Empfehlungen zur Fluoridierung und zur Auswahl geeigneter Fluoridierungsmittel. Außerdem haben die Kinder zweimal je Kalenderhalbjahr Anspruch auf die Anwendung von Fluoridlack zur Zahnschmelzhärtung.
  • Kinder haben ab dem 34. Lebensmonat bis zur Vollendung des sechsten Lebensjahres Anspruch auf drei zahnärztliche Früherkennungsuntersuchungen (§ 26 SGB V). Die Untersuchungen umfassen die Inspektion der Mundhöhle, die Einschätzung des Kariesrisikos, die Ernährungs- und Mundhygieneberatung der Erziehungsberechtigten, die Empfehlung geeigneter Fluoridierungsmittel zur Schmelzhärtung und gegebenenfalls die Abgabe oder Verordnung von Fluoridtabletten. Bei Kindern mit hohem Kariesrisiko ist ergänzend zweimal je Kalenderhalbjahr die Anwendung von Fluoridlack zur Kariesvorbeugung angezeigt.
  • Kinder und Jugendliche vom 6. bis zum Ende des 18. Lebensjahres haben Anspruch auf die halbjährliche Individualprophylaxe (§ 22 SGB V); dazu gehören z. B. die Mundgesundheitsaufklärung mit Anleitung zu Mundhygienemaßnahmen und die Fluoridierung der Zähne zur Zahnschmelzhärtung. Inhalt und Umfang der Prophylaxeleistungen werden vom Zahnarzt oder der Zahnärztin nach den individuellen Gegebenheiten des Einzelfalls festgelegt.
  • Kinder bis zum noch nicht vollendeten 12. Lebensjahr werden im Rahmen der Gruppenprophylaxe in Kindergärten und Schulen betreut; in Schulen und Behinderteneinrichtungen, in denen das Kariesrisiko der Schüler überproportional hoch ist, können die Maßnahmen bis zum 16. Lebensjahr durchgeführt werden (§ 21 SGB V).
  • Allen Versicherten steht unabhängig von ihrem Alter jedes Halbjahr eine eingehende zahnärztliche Untersuchung zur Feststellung von Zahn-, Mund- und Kieferkrankheiten sowie einmal im Jahr eine Zahnsteinentfernung zu.

Weiterführende Informationen

Pflichtprogramme

Weitere nützliche Informationen finden sich hierÖffnet in neuem Fenster

Die entsprechenden Rechtsgrundlagen (§ 20 Absatz 8 bis 14 Infektionsschutzgesetz) können hierÖffnet in neuem Fenster aufgerufen werden.

Gesundheitsuntersuchung Kinder und Jugendliche

Kindergesundheit.infoÖffnet in neuem Fenster

Broschure "Früherkennung und Vorsorge für Ihr Kind"Öffnet in neuem Fenster (Kindergesundheit.info)

 Kassenärztliche BundesvereinigungÖffnet in neuem Fenster

Krebsfrüherkennung

Gemeinsamer Bundesausschuss: Information zur KrebsfrüherkennungÖffnet in neuem Fenster

Krebsinformationsdienst des DKFZ: Krebsvorsorge und KrebsfrüherkennungÖffnet in neuem Fenster

Institut für Qualität und Wirtschaftlichkeit im Gesundheitswesen (IQWiG): Gesundheitsinformationen zur FrüherkennungÖffnet in neuem Fenster

Gesundheitsinformation.deÖffnet in neuem Fenster

Zahnärztliche Untersuchung

Gemeinsamer Bundesausschuss

RichtlinieÖffnet in neuem Fenster des Gemeinsamen Bundesausschusses über die Früherkennungsuntersuchungen auf Zahn-, Mund- und Kieferkrankheiten

Verantwortlich für den Inhalt
Bundesministerium für Gesundheit

Letzte Aktualisierung bzw. Veröffentlichungsdatum
15.10.2020